A round-up of all the Round 12 Plate matches of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018-19
A round-up of all the Round 12 Plate matches of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018-19

Malolan Rangarajan s 50 and two wickets helped Uttarakhand end their Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018-19 season with a 108-run win over Arunachal Pradesh in a Round 12 Plate group match at the GS Patel Stadium in Nadiad on Monday. Uttarakhand thus registered their seventh win, but narrowly missed out on qualifying for the quarters.

Opting to bat, Uttarakhand suffered a top order collapse that saw them slip to 90/6 in the 23rd over. However, Rangaranjan and wicketkeeper-batsman Saurabh Rawat (67) stitched a 100-plus partnership to resurrect the innings. Rangaranjan, who scored four boundaries during his 82-ball knock, was the first to depart after he was trapped lbw off Kshitiz Sharma in the 43rd over. Rawat, meanwhile, held fort and was dismissed in the last over off Akhilesh Sahani. Uttarakhand finished their innings at 264.

Arunachal Pradesh fumbled during their run chase. Openers Samarth Seth (27) and Doria (26) got the right starts, but failed to capitalise as Arunachal slumped to 70/3 in the 19th over and from thereon, they further slipped to 132/6 in the 41st over. For Uttarakhand, skipper Rajat Bhatia returned with exceptional figures of 3/17 in his 10 overs, while Rangaranjan conceded 12 runs in his 10 overs.

Brief scores: Uttarkhand 264 all out in 49.4 overs (Saurabh Rawat 67, Malolan Rangarajan 50) beat Arunachal Pradesh 156/9 in 50 overs (Akhilesh Sahani 41; Rajat Bhatia 3-17) by 108 runs

Puducherry finish third

Puducherry have Paras Dogra to thank after his unbeaten 136 along with fifties from captain D Rohit (55) and Abhishek Nayar (50) helped them beat Meghalaya by 74 runs at the Shastri Maidan in Anand on Monday. After notching their fourth win in a row, Puducherry finished third in the Plate Group with 24 points.

Opting to bat, Puducherry were off to a good start with opener Narayan (37) and Rohit conjuring 99 runs for the opening wicket. Narayan departed in the 19th over after he was stumped by keeper Punit Bisht off RR Biswa. Rohit followed his opening partner two overs later. Dogra and Nayar then took the onus of run-scoring as the duo were involved in a 115-run partnership which thrusted Puducherry to 218/3 in the 39th over after which Nayar was cleaned up by Mark Ingty. Dogra batted with the tail as Puducherry finished at 324/5. Dogra s 97-ball innings was laced with 12 boundaries and seven sixes.

Chasing 324 was never going to be easy and Meghalaya seemed to have buckled under the pressure as they were down 73/3 in the 18th over. Yogesh Nagar s unbeaten 109 and Gurinder Singh (72) tried hard to reach the target, but their 133-run partnership could only help Meghalaya reach 250/5 after 50 overs.

Brief scores: Puducherry 324/5 in 50 overs (Paras Dogra 136, D Rohit 55, Abhishek Nayar 50) beat Meghalaya 250/5 in 50 overs (Yogesh Nagar 109*, Gurinder Singh 72) by 74 runs

Bihar thrash Mizoram, qualify for quarters after 18 years

Bihar thrashed Mizoram by nine wickets on Monday at the Moti Bagh Stadium in Vadodara to enter the quarter-finals on domestic return after 18 years.

Opting to bat, Mizoram were off to a positive start with opener Akhil Rajput scoring a 65-ball 43. However, Bihar captain Keshar Kumar s left-arm spin spoiled the party for Rajut, who was cleaned up in the 22nd over. Rajput s dismissal led to a batting collapse with no other batsmen, besides his opening partner Michael Lalremkima (18) registering double digit scores. Five batsmen departed for ducks that added insult to injury.

Mizoram were bowled out for 83 in 27.2 overs with Kumar returning with 4/21, while the other left-arm spinner Ashutosh Aman claimed three wickets in his four over and went for just two runs.

An unbeaten 59 by opener Vikash Ranjan ensured Bihar seal the win in 15.4 overs and edge past second-placed Uttarakhand to reach the knockouts in a memorable victory.

Brief scores: Bihar 87/1 in 15.4 overs (Vikash Ranjan 59*) beat Mizoram 83 all out in 27.2 overs (Akhil Rajput 43; Keshav Kumar 4/21, Ashutosh Aman 3/2) by nine wickets

Here’s how all the action unfolded today.