Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018-19, Elite Group A roundup: Rahane, Iyer centuries power Mumbai

A round-up of the Elite Group A matches on day three of the 2018-19 Vijay Hazare Trophy.

At the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru, centuries to Mumbai captain Ajinkya Rahane and Shreyas Iyer set up an 88-run win over hosts Karnataka.

Rahane took a backseat to Prithvi Shaw who hit 60 off 53 balls in an opening stand of 18 overs, and then smartly dropped anchor at the arrival of Iyer, who clubbed eight sixes and five fours on his way to 110 from 72 balls. This allowed him to bed into a crucial hundred, which featured 13 fours and three sixes, to drive Mumbai to 362/2. Rahane s 148 from 150 balls was his ninth List A century and with Iyer, he added 216 for the second wicket. Shivam Dube hit 23 offline balls to lift Mumbai past 250.

Barring Mayank Agarwal s 66 off 48 balls, no Karnataka batsman threatened damage to Mumbai s total. Once Karun Nair was dismissed for 31 by Dube, the chase went from 102/2 to 144/5 with Shams Mulani claiming three wickets.

Mumbai 362/3 in 50 overs (Rahane 148, Iyer 110, Shaw 60) beat Karnataka 274 in 45 overs (Agarwal 66) by 88 runs

At Alur, Punjab beat Vidarbha by 147 runs for their second victory. Punjab made 278/7 in 50 overs, with Gurkeerat Singh the top-scorer with 85 not out off 80 balls. Several batsman made starts – Manan Vohra with 27, Shubman Gill with 23, skipper Mandeep Singh with 23 and Yuvraj Singh with 41 – but only Gurkeerat crossed 50. Down at No 8, Manpreet Grewal clubbed four sixes in his 27 off nine balls.

Vidarbha s chase never got going. Rocked by the loss of Atharva Taide first ball to Arshdeep Singh, Vidarbha proceeded to stumble to 58/6 with Arshdeep and Grewal taking two wickets each and Mandeep proving a thorn with a couple. Ganesh Sathish resisted with 60 until he fell to Gurkeerat, and without a run added to their score Vidabha lost Shrikant Wagh for 33. From 131/7 the innings crashed to 137 with Mayank Markhande taking 3/37.

Punjab 278/7 in 50 overs (Gurkeerat 85*) beat Vidarbha 137 in 40.5 overs (Satish 60) by 141 runs

Also at Alur, Goa did enough to clinch a 42-run win over Railways. Goa s 317/5 in 50 overs featured fifties to the opener Sumiran Amonkar (85 off 105 balls) and No 3 Snehal Kauthankar (67 off 76) with handy contributions from Amit Verma (46 off 38), Suyash Prabhudessai (37 off 20) and Darshal Misal (41* off 20). Pace bowler Amit Mishra was bruised with figures of none for 81 in ten overs.

Railways lost Karn Sharma for 0 but fought through Saurabh Wakaskar (29), Mrunal Devdhar (68) and Amit Paunikar (84) to keep themselves in the hunt until Lakshay Garg and Amulya Pandrekar broke the spine of the batting. Krishna Das, the former Assam seamer, added two more wickets in a very good outing to apply the finishing touches. Das (4/50) and Garg (3/61), both new-ball bowlers, took three wickets each.

Goa 317/5 in 50 overs (Amonkar 85, Kauthankar 67) beat Railways 275 in 47.2 overs (Paunikar 84, Devdhar 68, Das 4/50) 42 by runs