Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019-20, Round 1, Plate wrap: Meghalaya, Mizoram register wins

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019-20, Round 1, Plate wrap: Meghalaya, Mizoram register wins

Dwaraka Ravi Teja scored a hundred to set up Meghalaya's 194-run win over Sikkim.

Updated: September 24, 2019 10:22 PM IST | Edited By: Ameya Tilak

Rain made its presence felt as the Nagaland versus Manipur match in the round one of the Plate stage of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019 at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Dehradun was washes out without a ball being bowled in Tuesday.

Meghalaya, meanwhile, started their campaign on a winning note as they registered a thumping 194-run win over Sikkim at the Tanush Academy Ground in Dehradun.

Put in to bat, Meghalaya scored 318 on the back of Dwaraka Ravi Teja's hundred and fifties from Puneet Bisht and Amiangshu Sen.

While the openers, skipper Raj Biswa and Swarajeet Das, put up a 54-run stand, Meghalaya lost three wickets for 16 runs as Bhusan Subba and Iqbal Abdulla shared the spoils.

However, Bisht and Dwaraka Ravi Teja did an excellent rebuilding job, adding 99 runs together before the former perished for a quickfire 74, hitting 13 fours during his 50-ball stay in the middle.

Bisht's dismissal brought Sen in the middle as he joined forces with Dwaraka Ravi Teja. While the latter slammed an unbeaten 109 off 88 balls, hitting 13 fours and two sixes, the pair put up a 143-run partnership before Sen was run out on the penultimate delivery of the Meghalaya innings for 59.

Sikkim never really got going in the chase. While Aditya Singhania ran through the middle and lower middle-order, scalping four wickets, conceding just 18 runs from his seven overs, Akash Choudhary and Amiangshu Sen set the ball rolling for Meghalaya, reducing Sikkim to 37/3.

Although Yashpal Singh scored a half-century - 53 off 88 balls -, he found no support from the other end as only two Sikkim batsmen scored in double digits before the team was bundled out for 124 in 46.3 overs.

In the third game of the day, Samarth Seth's hundred went in vain as Arunachal Pradesh suffered a seven-wicket defeat against Miroram at the Abhimanyu Cricket Academy in Dehradun.

Batting first, Arunachal Pradesh scored 267 as Seth scored 102 and Rahul Dalal and Uvais Ahmad chipped in with 68 and 46 runs respectively.