Kohli, Dhoni Find Spot in Warner’s IND-AUS IPL XI; No Place For Yuvraj And Malinga
David Warner celebrates his fifty for Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL©BCCI

One of the most consistent and prolific batsmen in the history of Indian Premier League (IPL) – David Warner included the likes of Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and former India captain MS Dhoni in his all-time IPL XI on Wednesday. Captaining the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) franchise in the T20 extravaganza, Warner holds the records for the most runs by an overseas player (4706), most half-centuries (44) and the highest individual score by a captain (126) in the IPL.

The 33-year-old Warner left out the likes of Yuvraj Singh, his former Australia teammate Shane Watson and Mumbai Indians duo Kieron Pollard and Lasith Malinga from his final XI. In an interview with commentator Harsha Bhogle for Cricbuzz, Warner chose himself and Rohit as openers of the line-up. Kohli comes in at no.3 while CSK stalwart Suresh Raina slots into the no.4 position.

At no.5 and no.6 come big-hitting all-rounders, Hardik Pandya and Glenn Maxwell. CSK skipper M.S. Dhoni comes in at no.7 and is also the wicketkeeper of the side.

Warner also spoke about the similarities he seems to share with Kohli on the show. “I can’t speak for Virat, obviously, but it’s almost like we got this thing in us when we go (out to the middle) we need to prove people wrong, prove someone wrong,” Warner said.

“If you’re in that contest, and if I’m going at him for example, you’re thinking, ‘Alright, I’m going to score more runs than him, I’m going to take a quick single on him’.

“You are trying to better that person in that game. That’s where the passion comes from,” he added.

There was a host of names in the bowling department – including the likes of his fellow Aussie pacer, Starc. Alongside Starc, he picked the Indian pace duo of Ashish Nehra and Jasprit Bumrah. While the left-hander was sure about the selection of his pacers, in the spin department, he chose the ‘KulCha,’ combination.

David Warner’s combined IPL XI: David Warner, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Hardik Pandya, Glenn Maxwell, MS Dhoni (WK), Mitchell Starc, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra, Yuzi Chahal / Kuldeep Yadav