West Indies will play against Pakistan on February 8 © ICC Twitter Handle
West Indies will play against Pakistan on February 8 © ICC Twitter Handle

West Indies coach Dwain Gill Friday defended a controversial run-out at the ICC Under-19 World Cup which sparked a furor on social media, saying the “Mankad” was well within the rules. Zimbabwe needed only three runs in the final over with one wicket in hand in Tuesday’s game in the Bangladesh city of Chittagong when Keemo Paul ran Richard Ngarava out without entering his delivery stride, scuppering the African minnows’ hopes of a surprise place in the quarter-finals. The umpires, who initially did not give the decision, asked the West Indies players if they wanted to uphold the appeal and after receiving confirmation, the matter was referred to the third umpire which confirmed that Ngarava’s bat was not behind the line. READ: Darren Sammy weighs in on Mankading incident during West Indies vs Zimbabwe ICC

Such a dismissal is popularly known as “Mankading” in cricket referring to Indian left-arm spinner Vinoo Mankad, who dismissed Australian batsman Bill Brown twice in such a fashion in 1947. “I mean, a law is a law, right?” Gill told AFP when asked for a comment on the controversy ahead of his team’s quarter-final clash against Pakistan on Monday. But Australian coach Darren Lehmann, England one-day international captain Eoin Morgan and former New Zealand captain Stephen Fleming led a chorus of outrage against the dismissal, labelling the West Indies’ actions “disgraceful” on Twitter. READ: Did Mankading rob Zimbabwe an entry to ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup 2016

“This is not a good look. absolutely disgraceful behaviour!!” Fleming posted on the microblogging site.  “Disgraceful behaviour in the U19CWC. WI’s should be embarrassed!!” Morgan tweeted. But some former players and coaches defended the “Mankad”. “If it is in the rule book it is all about personal decision making,” Bangladesh coach Chandika Hathurusinghe told AFP on Friday. The International Cricket Council refused to make any comment on dismissal but referred to a statement its cricket committee chief Anil Kumble made in 2014. “The Law strikes a sensible balance between preventing a batsman from gaining an advantage whilst at the same time preventing the bowler from unfairly seducing the batsman into leaving his crease by faking to deliver and then holding on to the ball,” that statement said.