Cricket Country Staff
Editorial team of CricketCountry.
Written by Cricket Country Staff
Published: Aug 13, 2019, 10:44 AM (IST)
Edited: Aug 13, 2019, 10:44 AM (IST)
The overthrow incident involving Martin Guptill and Ben Stokes during the World Cup final which rewarded England six runs (2+4 overthrow) will be up for a review next month, the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) said.
ALSO READ: ICC defends umpire Dharmasena’s overthrows call during World Cup final
“The WCC (World Cricket Committee) discussed Law 19.8 in relation to overthrows, in the context of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Final. WCC felt that the Law was clear but the matter will be reviewed by the laws sub-committee in September 2019,” the MCC said in an official statement.
READ: I agree that there was an error – Kumar Dharmasena on World Cup final overthrow controversy
With England needing nine to win from three deliveries, the dramatic turn of events saw a throw from Guptill in the deep get deflected off the bat of a diving Ben Stokes, who was scampering back for the second run as the ball raced to the boundary and England were awarded six runs. It resulted in the match ending in a Super Over, which also was a tie and England were adjudged winners on the count of boundaries.
READ: Did Ben Stokes ask umpires to cancel overthrown boundary in final?
However, it later emerged that on-field umpires Marais Erasmus and Kumar Dharmasena had erred in their decision to award England six runs. As per the rule, an overthrow is counted from the exact moment when the fielder releases the ball provided the batsmen have crossed, but since Stokes and Jos Buttler did not, England should have been awarded five runs and not six. Umpire Dharmasena later admitted to the error.
The International Cricket Council has come out with a public statement about the controversial incident, stating that the “right process” was followed while making the decision to award six runs to the eventual winners England at Lord’s on July 14.
Law 19.8 related to an “overthrow or wilful act of fielder”, states: “If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the willful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be any runs for penalties awarded to either side, and the allowance for the boundary, and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act.”
This website uses cookies so that we can provide you with the best user experience possible. Cookie information is stored in your browser and performs functions such as recognising you when you return to our website and helping our team to understand which sections of the website you find most interesting and useful.
Strictly Necessary Cookie should be enabled at all times so that we can save your preferences for cookie settings.
If you disable this cookie, we will not be able to save your preferences. This means that every time you visit this website you will need to enable or disable cookies again.