ICC World T20 2012 was the fourth edition of mega event. This edition was hosted in Sri Lanka; for the first time in the Indian subcontinent. By this time, teams were pretty much used to this format and knew how to strategize their game. Looking back at the previous editions of the tournament, this was way more successful than its last two editions of 2009 and 2010. The format of the tournament was once again same with four groups of three teams each, which included England, Australia, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, India, West Indies, South Africa, New Zealand, Afghanistan, Ireland, Zimbabwe and Bangladesh. ICC World T20 2010: The long wait ended as England won their first global title.

Despite the tournament being played in Indian subcontinent, first champion team of the tournament from Asia — India continued their poor run since 2009 and once again failed to qualify for the semi-final. The 2012 edition was full of some brilliant bowling performances along with some decent knocks from the batsmen. In the opening match of the tournament, host Sri Lanka showed how to bowl on Lankan pitches, as Ajantha Mendis took the first fifer in this tournament against Zimbabwe. His figures of 6-8 are still the best bowling figures in World T20. Further, on the fourth day of the tournament, Brendon McCullum showed how to bat in this format of the game with ruthless knock of 58-ball 123 against Bangladesh. He became the fourth batsman to score a hundred in a World T20 match and also this was the only century made in this edition.

This was just the beginning of the tournament and top eight teams ruled the whole event as there was no upset witnessed by any minnow team. Bangladesh had the chance to create an upset of the tournament as they had very good chance of beating Pakistan in the group stage in which Shakib Al Hasan scored an excellent knock of 54-ball 84 but was overshadowed by Imran Nazir’s 36-ball 72. After the group stage, top eight teams qualified to super eight stage in which Sri Lanka, West Indies, England, New Zealand in group 1 and Australia, Pakistan, India and South Africa were placed in group 2. Both New Zealand and South Africa could not win a single match in super eight stages and lost all their three matches. Sri Lanka emerged as the top team in super eight stage by winning their all three matches followed by West Indies, Australia, Pakistan and India with two wins each. India could not enter the semi-final stage because of having low net run rate than Australia and Pakistan in group 2.

In the semi-final stage, Sri Lanka beat Pakistan with their tight bowling, while Australia were badly thrashed by West Indies. For the very first time, West Indies came into final in World T20 and this was Sri Lanka’s second final of the tournament after 2009. Initially, the final match looked pretty one sided because of some excellent bowling by Sri Lankan bowlers but later on, Marlon Samuels and skipper Darren Sammy ensured a defending total of 137. In return, Sri Lanka were on backfoot from the start as they kept losing wickets at regular intervals and finally the Caribbean guys could have the taste of being World Champion in this format. After a gap of eight years, West Indies won any ICC tournament and that too in their style followed by their endless celebration. Sri Lankans were dejected as this was the fourth final of any ICC tournament they lost since 2007.

With this edition of the tournament, it was a new beginning of West Indies cricket team in international cricket. Despite being a very inconsistent side in ODIs and Tests, West Indies are still ruling the T20 format.

Designed by Srushti Takale | Infographics by Abhishek Kumar
Designed by Srushti Takale | Infographics by Abhishek Kumar

(Abhishek Kumar is a cricket devotee currently staffing with Criclife.com. He can be followed at abhicricket.kumar and @abhishekkr2593)