Harbhajan Singh was the Man of the Match on both occasions when Mumbai Indians won the CLT20 trophy © PTI
Harbhajan Singh was the Man of the Match on both occasions when Mumbai Indians won the CLT20 trophy © PTI

It will be a rematch of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2012  final as Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) look for their maiden Champions League T20 (CLT20) title against Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the CLT20 2014 final on Saturday. Abhijit Banare presents a few records from the past five finals.

In an all-IPL final, KKR, unbeaten in their last 14 matches, take on the most successful T20 side in the world — CSK. While CSK have a cushion of playing on familiar pitches as they did in the league stage, KKR have a big worry with Sunil Narine barred from bowling. Read the preview of the match here.

Here are some past records of the CLT20 2014 finals:

Win Toss and… In the five finals of CLT20, the team winning the toss has elected to field on three occasions. It has been a habit for captains in T20s to focus on chasing. But team batting first have won three of the five finals. It does indicate that maybe the ‘win toss, chase’ may not be ideal option in a high pressure match.

 Below are the toss results of the five finals.



Trinidad & Tobago, field


Warriors, bat


Mumbai Indians, bat


Sydney Sixers, field


Rajasthan Royals, field


Below are the results of the five CLT20 finals played so far:





Man of the Match

Man of the Series


Oct 23, 2009

New South Wales vs Trinidad & Tobago

New South Wales won by 41 runs

Brett Lee

Brett Lee


Sep 26, 2010

Warriors vs Chennai Super Kings

Chennai won by 8 wickets

Murali Vijay

Ravichandran Ashwin


Oct 9, 2011

MumbI Indians vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

Mumbai won by 31 runs

Harbhajan Singh

Lasith Malinga


Oct 28, 2012

Lions vs Sydney Sixers

Sydney won by 10 wickets

Michael Lumb

Mitchell Starc


Oct 6, 2013

Mumbai Indians vs Rajasthan Royals

Mumbai won by 33 runs

Harbhajan Singh

Dwayne Smith

Totals: The highest total in a CLT20 final was by Mumbai Indians in 2013 against Rajasthan Royals where the entire batting line-up clicked to pile on 202. The next best is 159 by New South Wales (NSW) in the first edition of the tournament. Both lowest scores are from the teams chasing. Royal Challengers Bangalore managed only 108 in response to Mumbai’s 202 whereas Trinidad posted 118 in response to 159 by NSW.

The average first innings total in a CLT20 final is 149.80. But if we remove Mumbai’s mammoth 202 then the average first innings score drops to 136.75. Both these average totals are considered fairly less in a T20 match on Indian pitches. However, Chinnaswamy Stadium is going to be a flat deck with a high-scoring match on offer.



Mumbai Indians (2013)


Royal Challengers Bangalore


New South Wales


Trinidad & Tobago


1. If KKR win, this would be the third time that an IPL franchise has won the IPL and CLT20 in the same year. Mumbai Indians in 2013 and Chennai Super Kings in 2010 have achieved it before.

2. This is the second instance of teams playing the opening match of the CLT20 league stage also playing the final match. This happened in the previous season with Mumbai Indians and Rajasthan Royals.

3. If CSK win, they will be the second team after Mumbai Indians to lift the trophy twice.

Catch the key battles to look forward to in the CSK vs KKR CLT20 2014 final here

Best batting: Michael Lumb and Brad Haddin were unbeaten as they cruised to victory against the Lions in 2012. Sanju Samson and Ajinkya Rahane put up an excellent show in a chase of 203 against Mumbai Indians in 2013. Below are the best batting shows in a CLT20 final.




Michael Lumb

Sydney Sixers


Ajinkya Rahane

Rajasthan Royals


Sanju Samson

Rajasthan Royals


Murali Vijay

Chennai Super Kings


Best bowling: Going by the records, it seems having Harbhajan Singh in the team is the safest bet for a CLT20 final. Harbhajan has won the Man of the Match awards in both the finals Mumbai Indians played. Below are the best bowling figures in a CLT20 final.




Harbhajan Singh (2013)

Mumbai Indians


Muttiah Muralitharan

Chennai Super Kings


Harbhajan Singh (2011)

Mumbai Indians


Raju Bhatkal

Royal Challengers Bangalore


Stuart Clark

New South Wales


Best partnerships:

Partnership Batsman 1 Batsman 2 Team Runs Year
1st Michael Lumb Brad Haddin Sydney Sixers 124*


2nd Ajinkya Rahane Sanju Samson

Rajasthan Royals



1st Michael Hussey Murali Vijay Chennai Super Kings



7th Steven Smith Brett Lee New South Wales



The Man of the Match and Man of the Series in all five previous CLT20 finals have been from the winning side of the final.

Complete coverage of Champions League T20 (CLT20) 2014 here

(Abhijit Banare is a reporter at CricketCountry. He is an avid quizzer and loves to analyse and dig out interesting facts which allows him to learn something new every day. Apart from cricket he also likes to keep a sharp eye on Indian politics, and can be followed on Twitter at @AbhijitVirgo)