Shreyas Iyer has had a good run in the IPL 2015 so far © IANS
Shreyas Iyer has had a good run in the IPL 2015 so far © IANS

Shreyas Iyer, playing for Delhi Daredevils (DD), scored 83 off 56 balls against Mumbai Indians (MI) in Indian Premier League (IPL) 2015. Bharath Seervi lists such high individual scores by uncapped Indians in the Indian Premier League over the eight seasons.

One of the original reasons for the inception of IPL was to bring out the young talent from the country. The youngsters get to play along with International cricketers from all over the world (including Indians). Rubbing shoulders with the greats on and off the field definitely help the quality of the cricket and their attitude towards the sport. Best all-round performance in an IPL match

In the eighth season of IPL, there have been a few uncapped batsmen who have made their mark. The highest so far is by Shreyas Iyer, who scored a fine 83 off 56 balls playing for DD against MI at Feroz Shah Kotla on April 23, 2015. There have been few more half-centuries by the uncapped Indian players this season: 68 by Mayank Agarwal for DD against Kings XI Punjab (KXIP), 60 by Shreyas Iyer (again) for DD against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), 58 by Unmukt Chand for MI against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and 54 by Deepak Hooda for RCB against DD. Virat Kohli becomes first batsman to score 600 runs against a single IPL side

Let us look at scores of 75 and more scored by uncapped Indian players in the history of IPL. Let us also check how many went on to play for India. Highest percentage of IPL career runs in boundaries

Innings of 75 or more by uncapped Indian players in IPL

Batsman Runs Balls Fours Sixes S/R Team Against Venue Date
Paul Valthaty 120* 63 19 2 190.47 KXIP CSK Mohali 13-Apr-11
Manish Pandey 114* 73 10 4 156.16 RCB DC Centurion 21-May-09
Manish Pandey 94 50 7 6 188.00 KKR KXIP Chinnaswamy 01-Jun-14
Naman Ojha 94* 55 8 6 170.90 RR CSK Chepauk 03-Apr-10
Manvinder Bisla 92 61 14 2 150.81 KKR CSK Chepauk 28-Apr-13
Manvinder Bisla 89 48 8 5 185.41 KKR CSK Chepauk 27-May-12
Shreyas Iyer 83 56 7 5 148.21 DD MI Kotla 23-Apr-15
Ambati Rayudu 81* 54 6 4 150.00 MI RCB Chinnaswamy 14-May-12
Naman Ojha 80 49 6 5 163.26 RR CSK Motera 28-Mar-10
Manish Pandey 80* 56 7 3 142.85 PWI DD Pune 24-Apr-12
Tirumalasetti Suman 78* 57 6 3 136.84 DC RCB Chinnaswamy 08-Apr-10
Mandeep Singh 77* 58 7 0 132.75 KXIP PWI Mohali 21-Apr-13
Manvinder Bisla 75 51 7 4 147.05 KXIP RCB Chinnaswamy 16-Mar-10
Paul Valthaty 75 47 8 5 159.57 KXIP DC Hyderabad 16-Apr-11
Mandeep Singh 75 48 8 3 156.25 KXIP DC Hyderabad 08-May-12

–          Sadly, of the names mentioned above, Naman Ojha and Ambati Rayudu are the only ones to have adorn the Indian jersey in future.

–          Manvinder Bisla scored 92 in the IPL final 2013 to win the cup for Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR). Similarly, Manish Pandey scored 94 in IPL final 2015. Both did the same when the target was over 190. They are yet to play for India.

–          Pandey was the first Indian to score an IPL century. He is still uncapped.

–          Paul Valthaty scored 120 not out chasing against Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in 2011. In the next match he scored 75 and took 4 wickets for KXIP.

–          5 of the 15 on the list were scored against CSK, the best team in the tournament over the years.

–          Pandey and Bisla each have three scores of 75 or more in IPL without playing for India.

There may be few more such innings in future by players striving to get into the Indian side.

Footnote trivia:

Pandey is the only batsman who has scored over 1,000 runs in IPL and yet to play for his national side among both Indians and overseas players. He has played 69 matches and scored 1,454 runs at average of 26.43 from 65 innings at a strike rate of 117.16. He scored the maiden century by an Indian in IPL after seven overseas batsmen did it. He has also scored five IPL 50s. He has played for MI, RCB, PWI and KKR. Top all-rounders in Indian Premier League (IPL)

(Bharath Seervi is a cricket statistician who is obsessed with digging numbers, facts and records related to the game. An active member of Society of Cricket Statisticians of India, he blogs at He can be followed on Twitter at @SeerviBharath and on Facebook here)