1st T20I: Zimbabwe chase rare victory against rusty South Africa
Quinton de Kock is back to bolster South Africa's batting. @AFP

Zimbabwe will hope that a new format can rejuvenate their losing tour of South Africa as they prepare for their next stop, Bangladesh, when the teams meet in the first of three Twenty20 internationals at Buffalo Park today.

There has been little joy for Hamilton Masakadza s team in the three ODIs, each of which they lost with the batting to blame. But with South Africa having played just three T20Is since March 2016, Zimbabwe will believe that they can challenge the hosts and break a losing streak in T20Is that dates back two years.

South Africa have added a few fresh faces to their squad as they seek to gain momentum in the format.

Date: October 9

Venue: Buffalo Park, East London

Time: 21:30 IST

Weather: Partly sunny wth a high of 28 degrees

Team News

South Africa

Quinton de Kock will keep wickets and open the batting, and with David Miller also back, Heinrich Klaasen may have to make way despite a good run in the ODIs unless South Africa opt to rest their leading run-getter in the format, JP Duminy. Imran Tahir is also likely to get a breather, with Tabraiz Shamsi a good chance to return. One of the rookie batsmen, Rassie van Der Dussen and Gihann Cloete, could get a debut.

Probable XI: 1 Quinton de Kock (wk), 2 Reeza Hendricks, 3 Faf du Plessis (capt), 4 Rassie van Der Dussen/Gihann Cloete, 5 Heinrich Klaasen/JP Duminy, 6 David Miller, 7 Robbie Frylinck, 8 Andile Phehlukwayo, 9 Junior Dala, 10 Lungi Ngidi, 11 Tabraiz Shamsi


Solomon Mire s place would appear in jeopardy after a very poor ODI series – 0, 2 and 7 – but the runs he scored in the T20I tri-series back in July underline that his value in T20Is is greater. Chamu Chibhabha is back and should take his place at the top alongside Mire. Middle-order batsman Tarisai Musakanda could slot in for Craig Ervine.

Probable XI: 1 Chamu Chibhabha, 2 Solomon Mire, 3 Hamilton Masakadza (capt), 4 Brendan Taylor (wk), 5 Sean Williams, 6 Tarisai Musakanda, 7 Elton Chigumbura, 8 Tendai Chisoro, 9 Brandon Mavuta, 10 Kyle Jarvis, 11 Chris Mpofu


– Buffalo Park has hosted on T20I, back in 2012 which new Zealand won off the last ball.

– JP Duminy is South Africa s all-time leading run-getter with 1825 from 77 games.

– Of the current Zimbabwe squad, Chris Mpofu and Seam Williams have the most wickets in T20Is – 17.