Marais Erasmus and Kumar Dharmasena will be the on-field umpires for the last two Tests of Ashes. @AFP

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Saturday named Marais Erasmus, Ruchira Palliyaguruge and Kumar Dharmasena as the officiating umpires for the fourth and fifth Ashes Test.

The Ashes is currently tied at 1-1 after the conclusion of the third Test. While Australia won the series opener in Birmingham by 251 runs, the Tim Paine-led managed to draw the second Test at the Lord’s Cricket Ground despite England‘s late comeback.

Although Australia were in the driver’s seat in the third Test, England turned the tide as Ben Stokes’ unbeaten 135-run knock, chasing 359, sealed England’s stunning one-wicket win at Leeds.


The fourth Ashes will be played at Old Trafford in Manchester, starting on September 4 while the fifth and final Test will commence on September 12 at The Oval in London.

“As announced by the International Cricket Council prior to the start of the series, Marais Erasmus and Ruchira Palliyaguruge will join Kumar Dharmasena as the officiating umpires for the 4th and 5th Ashes Test matches commencing on 4 September in Manchester and 12 September at The Oval, respectively,” said ICC in a media release.

ALSO READ: MCC committee insist ‘neutral’ umpires still best for Tests

“Dharmasena was originally appointed as the TV umpire for the 4th Test match but will now stand on-field with Erasmus in both the 4th and 5th Tests, with Ruchira Palliyaguruge officiating as the TV umpire in both matches,” added ICC.

While the cricketing contest has been riveting in the ongoing Ashes, some of the umpiring decisions have faced some fierce scrutiny.

The umpire Joel Wilson, who has made several on-field errors including one that could have decided the third Test at Leeds last week, and Chris Gaffaney, who had seven decisions overturned during that match, will not officiate in the Old Trafford or Oval matches.

Wilson had a record-equalling eight decisions overturned during the first Ashes Test between England and Australia at Edgbaston. And as the gripping Headingley Test drew to a close in tense scenes, Wilson denied Nathan Lyon an lbw shout with England needing two runs to win with one wicket remaining.