Ashes 2019: Siddle, Wade, Pattinson in as Australia opt to bat at Edgbaston
James Pattinson (left), Peter Siddle (centre) and Matthew Wade (AFP Photo)

Australia captain Tim Paine won the toss and opted to bat in the first Ashes Test against England at Edgbaston on Thursday.


Australia have run in as many as six changes to their playing XI from the last Test. The trio of Steve Smith, David Warner and Cameron Bancroft returns after serving their respective bans for ball-tampering last year in March. Also making the playing XIs are the bowling duo of James Pattinson (last Test in February 2016) and Peter Siddle (October 2018).

Also back in the fold in wicketkeeper-batsman Matthew Wade (last Test September 2017) who has been rewarded for a brilliant show in Australia’s domestic cricket circuit.

Ashes-holders Australia have not won a match of any kind at Edgbaston since 2001, while England have won their past 11 internationals at the Birmingham ground. Australia are looking for their first Ashes series win in England in 18 years.

Playing XIs

England: Rory Burns, Jason Roy, Joe Root (captain), Joe Denly, Jos Buttler, Ben Stokes, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, Stuart Broad, Jimmy Anderson

Australia: David Warner, Cameron Bancroft, Usman Khawaja, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Matthew Wade, Tim Paine (captain andwk), James Pattinson, Pat Cummins, Peter Siddle, Nathan Lyon