Bangladesh Premier League: David Warner to captain Sylhet Sixers
Sylhet Sixers are the third T20 franchise David Warner has signed for since being handed a 12-month ban. @AFP

Banned Australia batsman David Warner was on Friday confirmed as captain of Sylhet Sixers in the upcoming Bangladesh Premier League, taking over from Nasir Hossain.

Sixers are the third T20 franchise Warner will have played for since being handed a 12-month suspension in March for his role in the ball-tampering scandal.

ALSO READ: David Warner, Sandeep Lamichhane sign for Sylhet Sixers

Barred from playing for his state New South Wales and in the Big Bash League, Warner turned out in the Global T20 Canada tournament and the Caribbean Premier League over the past few months. His ban, as well as that of former Australia captain Steve Smith, will conclude at the end of March 2019.

The Bangladesh Premier League starts January 5, 2019.

ALSO READ: AB de Villiers signs up with Rangpur Riders

Nepal legspinner Sandeep Lamichhane is Sylhet’s second overseas player after Warner.

Smith is also part of the BPL, having signed with Comilla Victorians for the franchise’s first four games.