Under-fire Bangladesh umpire Tanvir Ahmed admits error, says he’s new to international cricket
Carlos Brathwaite argues about a controversial no-ball call by umpire Tanvir Ahmed (right). (AFP Photo)

The Bangladeshi umpire whose incorrect no-ball calls during this weekend’s final Twenty20 international between Bangladesh and West Indies has admitted his errors while remaining confident of rebounding from widespread ridicule.

Tanvir Ahmed, standing in his first international assessment after being elevated to the ICC Umpire Panel in November, was in the line of fire on Saturday when he erroneously called a no-ball that resulted in a heated debate between Bangladesh and West Indies cricketer and the match officials at Mirpur.

ALSO READ: Umpire’s no-ball call causes controversy

During Bangladesh’s failed chase of 191, the opener Liton Das chipped a catch to mid-off off fast bowler Oshane Thomas only for Ahmed to signal a no-ball for overstepping which resulted in a single and a free-hit. The West Indies fielder seemingly spotted that Thomas had not overstepped when the big screen at the ground showed replays of the delivery, resulting in captain Carlos Brathwaite demanding a review. A discussion ensued bringing the proceedings to a halt.

Eventually, a review was called and the delivery was deemed legal with the on-field umpire raising his finger. However, Liton stood his ground.

ALSO READ: ‘Everyone saw that it was not a no-ball’- Brathwaite blasts umpires

The match referee Jeff Crowe rushed to the middle and a long discussion followed with Brathwaite and Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan. For the second time, the decision was reversed and the original no-ball call was upheld. The commotion lasted almost 10 minutes before order was restored.

While he accepted the decision, Brathwaite later made it clear what he felt about the call after the match.

Tanvir, three international matches old, cited his inexperience at this level.

“In terms of a no-ball, there is always the issue of the foot and the line being close to each other,” he old the Bangladesh daily Prothom Alo. “And if the bowler jumps quickly, there are occasions when it is difficult to spot it. I am new to international cricket, I made a mistake.

“If you look at my past, I don’t have a bad history. It was one mistake. Inshallah, I will come back well. Every person has good days and bad days. Yesterday I had a bad day. The match just ended yesterday. I am not focusing on anything else. I am thinking about my mistake.”

During the second T20I, Ahmed had incorrectly given an lbw verdict which West Indies successful overturned.  In 2016, Tanvir had walked off the field during a Dhaka Premier League one-day fixture after a disagreement with Tamil Iqbal over a stumping verdict. The match had to be postponed.