Brendon McCullum now has the highest individual score for a New Zealand batsman in Test cricket © Getty Images
Brendon McCullum now has the highest individual score for a New Zealand batsman in Test cricket © Getty Images


Feb 18, 2014


Brendon McCullum has become the first New Zealand batsman to score a triple century in Test cricket. McCullum achieved the monumental feat against India in the second Test in Wellington on February 18, 2014. McCullum was on 298 when he played a late cut for a four to brake Martin Crowe‘s New Zealand record of 299.


McCullum began the day on 281 with New Zealand at 571 for six. McCullum had already become New Zealand’s second highest run-scorer in an innings. He beat Stephen Fleming‘s 274 not out against Sri Lanka in 2003. Crowe had scored 299 against Sri Lanka in 1991. McCullum had scored a double century against India in the first Test in Auckland.


In Photos: Brendon McCullum’s triple century


This is the 28th occasion that a triple century has been scored in Test cricket. Three times triple centuries have been scored against New Zealand, but this is the first time a Kiwi player has scored one. This is the fourth time a triple century has been scored against India in Test cricket. McCullum is also only the second player after Hanif Mohammad to score a triple century in he second innings of a Test match. He scored 337 against West Indies at Bridgetown in 1958.


This is also the second triple century scored in 2014. Kumar Sangakkara scored one against Bangladesh in Colombo in early February. McCullum had struck 32 fours and four sixes so far in his innings. McCullum also has the record for longest innings in New Zealand’s cricketing history. Only two deliveries after completing the milestone, McCullum edged one from Zaheer Khan to MS Dhoni behind the wickets for 302.


On Day Four, McCullum achieved another feat by braking the record for the highest sixth-wicket partnership in Test history with BJ Watling. The duo got past the record set by Mahela Jayawardene and Prasanna Jayawardene. The Sri Lankan pair added 351 runs against India at Ahmedabad in 2009.


Below is a table showing the highest individual scores by New Zealand batsmen.


Batsman Inn Opp Year
Brendon McCullum 302 India 2014
Martin Crowe 299 Sri Lanka 1991
Stephen Fleming 274* Sri Lanka 2003
Bryan Young 267* Sri Lanka 1997
Stephen Fleming 262 South Africa 2006
Glenn Turner 259 West Indies 1972



Below is another table showing all the triple centuries scored in Test cricket.


Batsman Inn Opp Year
Brian Lara 400* England 2004
Matthew Hayden 380 Zimbabwe 2003
Brian Lara 375 England 1994
Mahela Jayawardene 374 South Africa 2006
Gary Sobers 365* Pakistan 1958
Len Hutton 364 Australia 1938
Sanath Jayasuriya 340 India 1997
Hanif Mohammad 337 West Indies 1958
Wally Hammond 336* New Zealand 1933
Mark Taylor 334* Pakistan 1998
Don Bradman 334 England 1930
Graham Gooch 333 India 1990
Chris Gayle 333 Sri Lanka 2010
Michael Clarke 329* India 2012
Inzamam-ul-Haq 329 New Zealand 2002
Andy Sandham 325 West Indies 1930
Virender Sehwag 319 South Africa 2008
Kumar Sangakkara 319 Bangladesh 2014
Chris Gayle 317 South Africa 2005
Younis Khan 313 Sri Lanka 2009
Hamish Amla 311* England 2012
Bob Simpson 311 England 1964
John Edrich 310* New Zealand 1965
Virender Sehwag 309 Pakistan 2004
Bob Cowper 307 England 1966
Don Bradman 304 England 1934
Lawrence Rowe 302 England 1974
* Brendon McCullum 302 India 2014