Hanuma Vihari had scored 87 against India A on Tuesday. @ AFP
Hanuma Vihari had scored 87 against India A on Tuesday. @ AFP

Middle order batsman Hanuma Vihari, who made his Test debut against England at the Oval in September this year, followed his 87 against India A on Tuesday with another top score of 76 off 94 to power India B to a 30-run victory over India C in the Deodhar Trophy 2018-19 season at the Feroz Shah Kotla on Wednesday.

Opting to bat, India B were in a precarious situation at 47/2 in the 10th over with both openers back in the hut courtesy Rajneesh Gurbani, who first cleaned up Prashant Chopra for 17 and then sent danger man Mayank Agarwal for 24. Skipper Shreyas Iyer too did not stay for long after he was caught behind by Ishan Kishan to give slow left-arm spinner debutant Pappu Roy his first wicket.

With not much support at the other end, the onus was on Vihari to ensure India B to a sizeable total. After the dismissal of Manoj Tiwary (16) and Rohit Rayudu (1), Vihari built a partnership with Ankush Bains, who was scored 46-ball 25. The duo conjured 60 runs with Vihari doing most of the run scoring in his 94-ball innings which was laced with six boundaries.

Bains was bowled by Suresh Raina in the 34th over that ended the partnership. Krishnappa Gowtham scored a quick 19-ball 18 as India B finished their innings at 231/9. Roy and Gurbani were the pick of the India C bowlers with three wickets apiece.

The India C run chase lacked any resilience with as many as six batsmen registering single-digit scores. Opener Ravikumar Samarth was dismissed for five off Deepak Chahar. Skipper Ajinkya Rahane failed to get any runs under his belt after he was caught by Tiwary off Gowtham in the 19th over.

Mumbai batsman Suryakumar Yadav could only manage to score 39 after he was dismissed by Tiwary as India C were skittled out for 201 with 10 balls to spare. Tiwary and Gowtham claimed three wickets for India B, who now have qualified for the final on October 27.

Brief scores: India B 231/9 in 50 overs (Hanuma Vihari 76; Rajneesh Gurbani 3/38, Pappu Roy 3/45) beat India C 201 all out in 48.2 overs (Suryakumar Yadav 39; Krishnappa Gowtham 3/40, Manoj Tiwary 3/44) by 30 runs