England, Australia draw Ashes for the first time in 47 years

With England claiming the fifth and the final Test of Ashes 2019, they managed to draw the series 2-2, even though they failed to reclaim the urn.

This is the first time in 47 years that an Ashes series has ended in a draw. The last drawn Ashes series before the 2019 edition was in 1972, which was hosted by England.

ALSO READ: Steve Smith in a class of his own and other talking points

Ever since the drawn series, both teams have played each other 23 times before 2019 with Australia winning 13 times, while England managed a series win for 10.

After being set a target of 399, Australia was bundled out for 263 runs in the final innings. Matthew Wade was the top-scorer for Aussies as he played a knock of 117 runs whereas Stuart Broad scalped four wickets for England.

ALSO READ: It meant a lot to have that reception from the crowd today, says Steve Smith

Archer was given the Man of the Match award for scalping six wickets in the first innings of the match.

Aussie batter Steve Smith was given Australia’s Man of the Series award whereas Ben Stokes was handed England’s Man of the Series award.

ALSO READ: Got a couple of regrets but retaining Ashes in England still huge: Tim Paine

Smith had an exceptional series with the bat as he scored 774 runs, scoring the most number of runs in a series this century.

On the other hand, Ben Stokes displayed an all-round performance, scoring 440 runs with the bat and taking eight wickets with the ball.

ALSO READ: Desperate to take this team forward, says Joe Root as he sets sights on winning Ashes in Australia

The first Test of the series was won by Australia by 251 runs at Birmingham.

The second match at Lord’s finished as a draw and Stokes’s heroics in the third Test at Headingley helped England level the series at 1-1.

However, Australia came back strongly in the fourth Test as they won the match by 185 runs to retain the Ashes.

The team from Down Under will next face Sri Lanka in a three-match T20I series whereas England will take on New Zealand in a five-match T20I series and two-match Test series.

(With ANI inputs)