Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana retained as captain and vice-captain of the T20I squad © IANS (File Photo)
Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana retained as captain and vice-captain of the T20I squad © IANS (File Photo)

India Women’s ODI and T20I squads were announced for the Sri Lanka tour by the Women’s Selection Committee in Delhi. The India Women’s team has to play a three-ODI ICC Women’s Championship against Sri Lanka Women. The ODI series kicks off with the first two ODI scheduled for 11th and 13th September at Galle and ends with the final ODI on 16th September at Katunayake.

The ODI series is followed by a five-match T20I series, which will serve as an ideal preparation ground for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup scheduled to be held in the Caribbean in November. The T20I series will be played between 19th and 25th September across Katunayake and Colombo.

The ODI team is being led by Mithali Raj with Harmanpreet Kaur as vice-captain, while the T20I side is being led by Kaur and vice-marshalled by dashing left-hander Smriti Mandhana. Mandhana has had a great run in the Kia Super League and has emerged top-scorer in the league with 421 runs in the 10 games she has played so far for Western Storm. She has scored one hundred and two fifties in the T20 league, one of those fifties which she scored off just 18 balls against Loughborough Lightning is the joint-fastest fifty in T20 cricket history.

Harmanpreet Kaur also had a decent run in the T20 league as she has scored 164 runs in seven games for Lancashire Thunder at an average of 32.80 and an impressive strike rate of 151.85.

Senior seamer Jhulan Goswami has announced her retirement from T20Is and will play only in the ODI leg of the tour.

The upcoming tour would also be Ramesh Powar‘s first assignment as a full0time coach of the India Women’s team. With the World T20 coming up, the team would look to fine-tune their skills and sharpen their game.

India Squad for ICC Women’s Championship – 3 ODIs vs Sri Lanka: Mithali Raj (Captain), Harmanpreet Kaur (vice-captain), Smriti Mandhana, Punam Raut, Deepti Sharma, D Hemlata, Jemimah Rodrigues, Veda Krishnamurthy, Tanya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Ekta Bisht, Poonam Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Jhulan Goswami, Mansi Joshi, Shikha Pandey





11th September

IWC – 1st ODI


13th September

IWC – 2nd ODI


16th September

IWC – 3rd ODI

Katunayake – MCG

India Squad for 5 T20Is vs Sri Lanka: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Mithali Raj, Veda Krishnamurthy, Jemimah Rodrigues, D Hemlata, Deepti Sharma, Anuja Patil, Tanya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Poonam Yadav, Ekta Bisht, Radha Yadav, Arundhati Reddy, Shikha Pandey, Mansi Joshi


Date Match Venue
19th September 1st T20I Katunayake – MCG
21st  September 2nd T20I COLTS – Colombo
22nd September 3rd T20I Colombo – CCC
24th  September 4th T20I Colombo – CCC
25th  September 5th T20I Katunayake – MCG