Bangladesh will play three ODIs against Sri Lanka, with the series opener being played on July 26. @AFP

Bangladesh on Friday named Tamim Iqbal skipper for the team’s tour of Sri Lanka after Mashrafe Mortaza was ruled out of the series after sustaining a hamstring injury on the final day of the three-day training ahead of the team’s departure. Mohammad Saifuddin will also miss the series due to a recurring back injury.

Chief selector Minhajul Abedin said that they will pick two players from the trio of Farhad Reza, Taskin Ahmed and Abu Jayed as replacements for Mortaza and Saifuddin.

“Mashrafe is unfortunately out of the tour after he hurt his hamstring again during training today,” Minhajul was quoted as saying by ESPNcricinfo.

ALSO READ: After a disappointing World Cup campaign, Bangladesh sack coach Steve Rhodes

“Saifuddin’s back injury has come back so he is also out. We are looking at Farhad, Taskin and [Jayed] Rahi to replace these two players,” added the chief selector.

“It is a recurrent injury that could take around three to four weeks to recover from. Therefore, he is ruled out from participation in sporting activity for a month,” said the Bangladesh Cricket Board’s (BCB) senior physician Dr Debashis Chowdhury.

With their regular vice-captain and World Cup hero Shakib Al Hasan and Liton Das not being a part of the series due to personal reasons, BCB named Tamim captain of the side.

On Tuesday, Bangladesh picked Anamul Haque and Taijul Islam in the 14-member squad while fast bowler Abu Jayed did not make the cut to the initial squad for the series.

ALSO READ: Sri Lanka set to sack coach Hathurusingha after sports minister’s order

Bangladesh will be playing three ODIs against the Sri Lankan side following a tour match on July 23. All these matches will be played in Colombo.

Niroshan Dickwella, Akila Dananjaya, Lakshan Sandakan and Danushka Gunathilaka, meanwhile, were among others have been recalled by Sri Lanka in their 22-man ODI squad for the Bangladesh series after ignoring them from the recently concluded ICC Cricket World Cup 2019.