IPL 2014 Final: Manan Vohra survives stumping opportunity against Kolkata Knight Riders

Jun 1, 2014


Manan Vohra and Wriddhiman Saha made Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) pay in their match against the Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) in the final of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2014. Sunil Narine came on to bowl the 16th over. After giving just one off the first two balls, Narine induced a false shot from Saha. However, Narine dropped the ball off his own bowling. Manan then got stumped off the next ball, only for the decision to get overruled as wicketkeeper Robin Uthappa gathered the ball in front of the stumps rather than behind it. It was deemed a no ball and Manan survived.


Morne Morkel continued for KKR. After Saha took a single off the first ball, Manan sliced one over point for six. He followed it up with another boundary, and then took a single. It was then Saha’s turn to pull Morkel over fine leg for another six. The pair got to their 100-run partnership off the final ball of the over.


Earlier, Wriddhiman Saha and Manan Vohra got to their half centuries in the IPL 2014 Final against Kolkata Knight Riders. In 14 overs, Punjab were 111 for two in 14 overs. Shakib Al Hasan came on to bowl the 13th over and they were only able to take singles off the first three overs. Saha then scooped one over the off-side and they got a couple. He then tried to reverse sweep one, but they got only a single. Vohra then got one through third-man and they got four runs for it.


Sunil Narine then came to bowl in the 14th over. The second ball was short and Saha smashed him for a six over square-leg. Saha pulled it with authority and it cleared the ground easily. He then swept another and Morne Morkel dived in the deep but it went for four on the one bounce. Saha then inside edged one and it went for four.


Earlier, Kolkata won the toss and chose to bowl first on what looks like a very good batting track at Bangalore. Kolkata played an unchanged side for this contest. Punjab made one change as Lakshmipathy Balaji came in place of Sandeep Sharma.


Follow Live Blog Here


Catch ball-by-ball commentary of the IPL 2014 final between KXIP and KKR here


Click here for IPL 2014 complete coverage


Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule & Results