After the bowlers came to the party, the RR batsmen did not let the team down as the Steve Smith-led unit beat Kane Williamson’s SRH. @PTI

After the bowlers Jaydev Unadkat, Shreyas Gopal, Varun Aaron and Oshane Thomas came to the party and restricted Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) to 160/8, Rajasthan Royals (RR) batsmen did not disappoint as the Steve Smith-led unit beat Kane Williamson and Co. by seven wickets in the 45th match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2019 at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur on Saturday.

Put in to bat, SRH, despite losing Williamson, dominated the proceedings as David Warner and Manish Pandey scored at brisk pace, with the latter bringing up his second successive fifty, scoring 61. However, Thomas dismissed the left-hander in the 13th over to break the 75-run partnership. Pandey fell soon after as SRH lost the plot and from 121/3, they were reduced to 147/8 as RR fought back in some style to restrict SRH to 160/8.

Chasing 161 runs to win, RR enjoyed a bright start as Liam Livingstone and Ajinkya Rahane put up 78-run opening stand before the former was dismissed for 44 by Rashid Khan. The Englishman scored those runs in 26 balls, hitting four fours and 3 sixes.

Rahane fell soon after as Shakib Al Hasan struck in the 12th over to give SRH their second breakthrough. The ex-RR skipper scored 39 runs during his 34-ball stay in the middle. (IPL 2019, RR vs SRH: AS IT HAPPENED)

While neither of them could score a fifty, the two went after SRH bowlers, especially Siddarth Kaul as the Indian pacer conceded 30 runs off his first two overs and failed to take any wickets.

The two quick wickets hardly helped SRH though as Steve Smith and Sanju Samson did not allow SRH any immediate success. The two added 55 runs together, with the Indian playing the aggressor s role.

While Smith perished for 22 on the final ball of the 17th over, Samson, who scored 48 off 32 balls, made sure that he stays till the end as RR won the match with five balls to spare.

Brief scores: Rajasthan Royals 161/3 (Sanju Samson 48*, Liam Livingstone 44; Shakib Al Hasan 1/26) beat Sunrisers Hyderabad 160/8 (Manish Pandey 61, David Warner 37; Jaydev Unadkat 2/26) by seven wickets