While Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings will face each other in Qualifier 1, Delhi Capitals will take on Sunrisers Hyderabad in Eliminator. @AFP/PTI/BCCI

Sunrisers Hyderabad s (SRH) defeat to Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) on Saturday had given Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) a hope to make it to the playoffs. However, a nine-wicket loss, in a must-win game against the Mumbai Indians (MI) at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Sunday, ended KKR s journey in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2019 and made SRH the first team to reach the IPL playoffs with 12 points against their name.

The defeat knocked Dinesh Karthik and Co. out of the playoffs race. A win, meanwhile, pushed Rohit Sharma-led MI to the top of the points table, surpassing Chennai Super Kings (CSK), who earlier on Sunday, lost their final league stage match against Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) in Mohali.

As the league stage of the 12th season of the IPL came to an end, MI and CSK occupy the first and second spot (respectively) in the points table while Delhi Capitals (DC) and SRH are on the third and fourth spot respectively.


This means, MI will take on CSK in the Qualifier 1 at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on May 7 (Tuesday) and DC will square off against SRH in the Eliminator on May 8 (Wednesday) at the Dr. YS Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium in Visakhapatnam.

The winner of the Eliminator and the loser from the Qualifier 1 will face each other in Qualifier 2 on May 10 (Friday) in Visakhapatnam.

The final, meanwhile, which will take place on May 12 (Sunday), will witness the winners of Qualifier 1 and Qualifier 2 square off at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad.

All the matches of the playoffs are scheduled to commence at 7.30 P.M. IST.

Here’s the schedule of IPL 2019 playoffs:

Playoff matches Teams Venue Day and Date Timing
Qualifier 1 Mumbai Indians (MI) vs Chennai Super Kings (CSK) MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai Tuesday, May 7, 2019 7.30 PM (IST)
Eliminator Delhi Capitals (DC) vs Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium, Visakhapatnam Wednesday, May 8, 2019 7.30 PM (IST)
Qualifier 2 Loser of Qualifier 1 vs Winner of Eliminator ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium, Visakhapatnam Friday, May 10, 2019 7.30 PM (IST)
Final Winner of Qualifier 1 vs Winner of Qualifier 2 Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad Sunday, May 12, 2019 7.30 PM (IST)