Lahore Lions need a massive win  to stay alive in the competition © Press Trust of India (File Photo)
Lahore Lions need a massive win to stay alive in the competition © Press Trust of India

Sep 29, 2014

Lahore Lions will face Perth Scorchers in the 19th match of the Champions League Twenty 20 (CLT20) 2014 at Bangalore on Tuesday. While the Scorchers are out of the tournament with their loss against Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Lahore Lions can still qualify if they win this game by 47 runs or 33 balls to spare.

The Pakistan T20 champions were well on course to give themselves a good advantage in their last game against Dolphins, where they had their opposition at 93 for 9. It is then that Robbie Frylinck started to bat with a ‘nothing to lose’ attitude, and scored a 27-ball 63 to seriously hamper the Lahore Lions net run-rate. Fans of CSK will be thanking Frylinck, for giving them a much better chance of making it to the semi-finals.

Umar Akmal has been looking in great touch for Lahore, scoring 40 and 73 in the last two innings he played. 35-year-old Aizaz Cheema too has troubled batsman with his lethal precision so far in this tournament, taking a total of 10 wickets at an average of 15.80 in the five matches he has played so far in the tournament.

For Scorchers, things should have panned out better, after Mitchell Marsh powered them to a sensational win over Dolphins. Scorchers needed 12 to win from two balls, and Marsh hit two sixes off Frylinck to give his team a win, and others a memorable match. However, they haven’t continued their momentum from there onwards and were beaten by IPL sides Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and CSK. Both were games where the Australian T20 champions held the advantage at some moments, and they would be ruing their missed chances. They would like to end their trip to India with a win against Lahore Lions, and look to reunite as a stronger unit in the next edition of Big Bash League. CSK fans would certainly love that.


Lahore Lions: Mohammad Hafeez (c), Ahmed Shehzad, Umar Siddique Khan, Mohammad Umar Akmal (wk), Nasir Jamshed, Mohammad Salman Ali, Asif Raza, Mohammad Mustafa Iqbal, Wahab Riaz, Aizaz Cheema, Imran Ali, Saad Naseem, Adnan Rasool, Mohammad Saeed, Ali Manzoor.

Perth Scorchers: Adam Voges (c), Cameron Bancroft (wk), Brad Hogg, Mitchell Marsh, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Craig Simmons, Ashton Turner, Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Yasir Arafat, Sam Whiteman (wk), Hilton Cartwright, Joel Paris, Michael Beer, Simon Mackin

Time: 14:30 GMT | 20:00 IST

Complete coverage of Champions League T20 (CLT20) 2014 here

(Sameer Jha is a reporter at CricketCountry. He can be followed on Twitter at @SameerJha_)