Virat Kohli © Getty Images
Virat Kohli © Getty Images


Apr 6, 2014


India and Sri Lanka clash in the ICC World T20 2014 final at Dhaka on April 6. India topped Group 2 to qualify from the Super 10s. Sri Lanka topped Group 1. India beat South Africa in the semi-final by six wickets. India have won all their four matches so far in the T20 World Cup. Sri Lanka beat defending champions West Indies in the semi-final. They have lost one match so far in the tournament.


MS Dhoni‘s men defeated Pakistan, West Indies, Bangladesh and Australia. All the victories were by comfortable margins. Sri Lanka beat South Africa, New Zealand and thrashed the Netherlands. Their loss came against England in a high-scoring match. Lasith Malinga will lead Sri Lanka in place of regular captain Dinesh Chandimal.


After winning the inaugural edition in 2007, this is the first time India have made it this far in the tournament. Spin could play a major role in the match as conditions are conducive for that. India have Ravichandran Ashwin, Amit Mishra and Ravindra Jadeja in their ranks. Sri Lanka have the likes of Rangana Herath, Sachitra Senanayake and Ajantha Mendis.




India: MS Dhoni (c & wk), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Mohit Sharma, Varun Aaron, Stuart Binny, Ajinkya Rahane.


Sri Lanka: Dinesh Chandimal (c), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Rangana Herath, Mahela Jayawardene, Nuwan Kulasekara, Suranga Lakmal, Lasith Malinga, Angelo Mathews, Ajantha Mendis, Kusal Perera, Thisara Perera, Seekkuge Prasanna, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Sachitra Senanayake, Lahiru Thirimanne.


Catch live updates of the final between India and Sri Lanka here


Catch live scorecard and ball-by-ball commentary for the India vs Sri Lanka match here


ICC World T20 2014 schedule: Match time table with venue details