Good Evening, Trathnona Maith, Suba Sændǣvak! Hello and Welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of Super 10 Group A, Match 9 between Ireland Women and Sri Lanka Women, of the ongoing ICC Women’s World T20 2016, at the Punjab Cricket Association (PCA) Stadium in Mohali on Sunday. I am Ayush Gupta, and I will be ringing you the updates from this tie. Ireland women, who have played only a game so far, have failed to grab a single point, as they lost it to New Zealand women by 93 runs, and would aim for a turnaround here against Sri Lanka, who on the other hand, too lost their game against the very same team by seven wickets, and would aim for a turnaround as well, and to gain their opening points.

LIVE CRICKET SCORE: IREW 115/8 in 20 Overs. BATTING: Kim Garth 11 (11), Lucy O’Reilly 0 (0) SLW WIN!!!! That’s it, the Lankans have done it as they comfortably win the tie by 14 runs in the final over, after Ireland fail to chase it down despite playing the full 20 overs.

LIVE CRICKET SCORE: IREW 86/3 in 15 Overs. BATTING: Isobel Joyce 23 (27), Laura Delany 25 (21) No harm done following the early and quick loss of three opening wickets for Irish as the present batsmen are batting comfortably and they look to chase the average total down in the slotted overs.

LIVE CRICKET SCORE: IREW 51/3 in 10 Overs. BATTING: Isobel Joyce 10 (14), Laura Delany 3 (4) GONE!!!! Another one goes down, and this time it’s Cecelia Joyce, who falls for 29 to Oshadi Ranasinghe, after being caught by de Silva, as Laura Delany makes her way in. It’s still anybody’s game. OUT! Cecelia Joyce c de Silva b Ranasinghe 29 (30)

LIVE CRICKET SCORE: IREW 21/2 in 5 Overs. BATTING: Cecelia Joyce 12 (12), Isobel Joyce 2 (6) GONE!!!! Acouple down for the Irish as they lose opener Clare Shillington and Cath Dalton for a mere single and five, respectively, while the the present batsmen look to hold on to the innings and aim to settle down, and chase the total down as well. OUT! Clare Shillington b Sugandika Kumari 1 (5), Cath Dalton c Surangika b Sugandika Kumari 5 (7)

LIVE CRICKET SCORE: SLW 129/7 in 20 Overs. BATTING: Eshani Lokusuriyage 35 (28), Udeshika Prabodhani 1 (2) — THAT’S IT!!!! The Lankans have managed to post an average total of 129 for the loss of seven wickets, as three of their batsmen have put up a stellar show. Can the Irish chase it down? OUT! Prasadani Weerakkody b Lucy O’Reilly 32 (41), Nilakshi de Silva lbw b Laura Delany 4 (4)

LIVE CRICKET SCORE: SLW 92/5 in 15 Overs. BATTING: Prasadani Weerakkody 20 (29), Eshani  Lokusuriyage 15 (16) No harm done following the quick loss of five wickets as both the batsmen continue to bat and steady the innings, as they target a good total. How much can they put on the board?

LIVE CRICKET SCORE: SLW 61/5 in 10 Overs. BATTING: Prasadani Weerakkody 4 (14), Eshani Lokusuriyage 1 (1) — GONE!!!! OMG, it’s five down for the Lankans out of nowhere, as the lose Yasoda Mendis, Chamari Atapattu, Dilani Manodara, Oshadi Ranasinghe and Harshitha Madavi out of nowhere, and four of them have been claimed by Ciara Metcalfe, while one has been a result of run out. What’s in store?

LIVE CRICKET SCORE: SLW 45/0 in 5 Overs. BATTING: Chamari Atapattu 34 (20), Yasoda Mendis 9 (10) — Steady start by the Sri Lankan openers as they look to play sensible cricket along with some good batting, while the Irish bowlers are struggling as of now.


Ireland Women: Clare Shillington, Cecelia Joyce, Cath Dalton, Isobel Joyce (c), Laura Delany, Gaby Lewis, Kim Garth, Mary Waldron (wk), Lucy O’Reilly, Amy Kenealy, Ciara Metcalfe.

Sri Lanka Women: Chamari Atapattu (c), Yasoda Mendis, Dilani Manodara (wk), Prasadani Weerakkody, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Harshitha Madavi, Eshani Lokusuriyage, Nilakshi de Silva, Udeshika Prabodhani, Sugandika Kumari, Inoka Ranaweera.

TOSS: Sri Lanka (Bat)

Ireland was the table topper in the Group B for the ICC Women’s World T20 Qualifiers, winning their final match by just two wickets against Bangladesh. Both Ireland and Sri Lanka have faced each other twice with the latter winning both the matches, with one match being abandoned. Ireland is skippered by Isobel Joyce and Sri Lanka team being led by Shashikala Siriwardene. The Sri Lankan team are just coming from a 0-3 defeat in the last T20I series; they played against India in India.

It will be the second match for both the sides in the event with Sri Lanka playing their opening match against New Zealand and Ireland playing against the same team as well. Both Sri Lanka and New Zealand are placed in Group A, which consisting of five teams each.


Ireland Women: Clare Shillington, Cecelia Joyce, Cath Dalton, Isobel Joyce (c), Laura Delany, Gaby Lewis, Kim Garth, Mary Waldron (wk), Lucy O’Reilly, Amy Kenealy, Ciara Metcalfe, Robyn Lewis, Kate McKenna, Shauna Kavanagh, Jennifer Gray.

Sri Lanka Women: Chamari Atapattu, Yasoda Mendis, Dilani Manodara (wk), Shashikala Siriwardene (c), Eshani Lokusuriyage, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Prasadani Weerakkody, Ama Kanchana, Udeshika Prabodhani, Sugandika Kumari, Inoka Ranaweera, Nipuni Hansika, Hansima Karunaratne, Harshitha Madavi, Nilakshi de Silva.