MS Dhoni    IANS (file image)
MS Dhoni IANS (file image)

It has been seven years since India lifted the World Cup but the words ‘And Dhoni finishes off in style’ are still familiar to every Indian fans. MS Dhoni and Gautam Gambhir had played vital knocks in the final against Sri Lanka. Dhoni had finished the tournament by dispatching the ball somewhere in the stands of Wankhede Stadium to seal it for India. Coincidentally, Dhoni was conferred with the Padma Bhushan award on the same day. Along with billiards champion Pankaj Advani, Dhoni was honoured by President Ram Nath Kovind. Dhoni has led Team India to all three Senior ICC titles World T20, World Cup and Champions Trophy. Padma Bhushan award is the third highest civilian award. The government announced names of the recipients on the eve of the 69th Republic Day.

The ceremony was held at Rashtrapati Bhavan. Vice-President M Venkaiah Naidu and Prime Minister Narendra Modi also attended the ceremony. Eighty-four Padma Awards were announced this year. The list comprises 3 Padma Vibhushan, 9 Padma Bhushan and 72 Padma Shri recipients.