Experienced Test campaigner Ajinkya Rahane has been named captain of the Rest of India (RoI) side that will face Ranji Trophy 2018-19 champions Vidarbha in the Irani Cup that will get underway from February 12 in Nagpur, the BCCI announced on Thursday.


Rahane, who has been missing from the senior India limited-overs game since February 18 last year when he part of the touring side to South Africa, was drafted to the India A squad and led them to a 4-1 series win against England Lions. (ALSO READ: Vidarbha claim second successive title beating Saurashtra by 78 runs)

Rest of India squad: Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Anmolpreet Singh, Hanuma Vihari, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Krishnappa Gowtham, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ankit Rajpoot, Tanveer Ul-Haq, Ronit More, Sandeep Warrier, Rinku Singh, Snell Patel


KL Rahul, who has been sidelined from the Indian team following his poor showing in Australia, has been named captain of the India A team for the second four-day game against England Lions in Mysore that will begin from February 13. (ALSO READ: It’s always not about results, not too worried about KL Rahul s form: India A coach Rahul Dravid)


India A squad: KL Rahul (Captain), AR Easwaran, Priyank Panchal, Ankeet Bawne, Karun Nair, Ricky Bhui, Siddhesh Lad, K.S. Bharat (wicket-keeper), Shahbaz Nadeem, Jalaj Saxena, Mayank Markande, Shardul Thakur, Navdeep Saini, Varun Aaron