Shalabh Shrivastava’s 49* powers Vidarbha to second consecutive win

Bihar are at the penultimate position of the seven-team group, while Vidarbha have topped Group B with eight points from two matches.

Making his return after more than a year, Shalabh Shrivastava’s unbeaten 49 powered Ranji Trophy 2018-19 and Irani Cup champions Vidarbha to their second consecutive win after a comprehensive seven-wicket win over Bihar in a Group B Round 2 match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali 2019 tournament on Friday.

Chasing a meagre 104, Vidarbha cruised to victory in just 14.2 overs for the loss of three wickets. The run-chase was a bit unconvincing at the start with Vidarbha losing both their openers – Jitesh Sharma (1) and Atharwa Taide (15) – to Vivek Kumar inside the first five overs. The experienced Ganesh Satish fell for just 6 after he was dismissed by Prashant Singh. (ALSO READ: Delhi bounce back to thrash Manipur by ten wickets)

However, the 33-year-old Shrivastava and Ravi Jangid conjured 61 for the unconquered fourth wicket as the duo threw the attack back at the opposition bowlers in Surat. Shrivastava was at the forefront of the attack as he bludgeoned six boundaries in his 38-ball stay at the crease, while Jangid provided good support and accumulated 27 off 19 which included a solitary boundary and a six.

Kumar, who looked dangerous in the start after picking both the Vidarbha openers, was neutralised by Shrivastava and Jangid. He returned with figures of two for 27 in his four overs.

Earlier, Yash Thakur and Akshay Karnewar pocketed two wickets apiece as Vidarbha, opting to bowl, restricted Bihar to 103/8. Babul Kumar top scored with 27, while MD Rahmatullah added 18. None of the batsmen registering any significant contributions. (ALSO READ: All-round Assam crush sorry Mizoram)

With their first loss, Bihar are at the penultimate position of the seven-team group, while Vidarbha top Group B with eight points from two matches.

Brief scores: Vidarbha 104/3 in 14.2 overs (Shalabh Shrivastava 49*, Ravi Jangid 27*; Vivek Kumar 2/27) beat Bihar 103/8 (Babul Kumar 27; Yash Thakur 2/12, Akshay Karnewar 2/17) by seven wickets

trending this week