Karun Nair    Getty Images
Karun Nair Getty Images

Hyderabad captain Ambati Rayudu elected to field first against Karnataka in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2018. Karnataka s batting line-up, who failed in their last match against Andra, posted a huge total of 205 against HyderabadL: Karun Nair (77) and Krishnappa Gowtham s (57) stitched a partnership of 131 runs.

Stuart Binny, the only batsman who had managed to score above 30 in the last match, failed to score today. However, he performed well with the ball. Mayank Agarwal and Manish Pandey continued to struggle.

Hydrabad’s first two wickets added 126 runs. Akshath Reddy playing brilliantly as he scored 70 of a meagre 29 balls.

Binny, in the 11th over, took two quick wickets dismissing the inform Reddy. Binny led Karnataka to a 2-run win in the last over. The over included two run outs and a wicket of the last ball when Hyderabad needed three runs to win. Binny ended with 3 for 29 in his 4 overs.

Karnataka will face table-toppers Tamil Nadu in their next match. They are currently second in South Zone group.

Brief scores:

Karnataka 205 ( Karun Nair 77, Krishnappa Gowtham 57; Ravi Kiran 2 for 33) won against Hyderabad (Akshath Reddy 70, Tanmay Agarwal 38; Stuart Binny 3 for 29) by 2 runs.