Parvez Rasool struck an unbeaten 71-ball 70 to take his team to the finish line and notch a memorable victory over fourth-placed Tamil Nadu. @ PTI
Parvez Rasool struck an unbeaten 71-ball 70 to take his team to the finish line and notch a memorable victory over fourth-placed Tamil Nadu. @ PTI

A round of up of the Elite Group C matches in Round 13 of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018-19

Parvez Rasool played a captain s knock as Jammu and Kashmir defeated Tamil Nadu by four wickets in an Elite Group C match in Round 13 of the Vijay Hazare 2018-19 season at the MA Chidambaram Stadium on Sunday.

Put into bat, Tamil Nadu lost opener Narayan Jagadeesan (6) in the fourth over. Abhinav Mukund, who had scored an unbeaten 131 in TN s previous match against Tripura, missed out on his 21st List A half century by one run, but was instrumental to stitch a vital 82-run partnership for the second wicket along with India discard Murali Vijay (44). Mukund was the first to depart in the 20th over after he was cleaned up by Waseem Raza. Vijay followed Mukund in the 21st over when he was caught by Raza off Umar Nazir.

Tamil Nadu were 103/3 in the 21st over and within no time, slipped to 152/7 in the 35th over. Baba Indrajith (28) was the only batsman who could offer some resistance to the J&K bowling attack, but he too struggled to gauge the spin of slow left-arm bowler Raza, who claimed two wickets in his eight overs. The pick of the J&K bowlers was pacer Nazir, who snapped 4/26 in his nine overs as Tamil Nadu were bowled out for 168 in 39.4 overs in a rain-reduced 41-over aside match.

The J&K run chase was not without drama. Opener Ahmad Omar Banday was trapped lbw by pacer Ahmad Omar Banday for just three. Ian Chauhan soon followed Banday after he was caught by Mohammad off Rahil Shah. Banday s partner Shubham Khajuria (24 off 40 balls) didn t survive long and was cleaned by Varun in the 16th over. J&K now found themselves in a spot of bother at 51/3.

Rasool was the only batsman who held the key for a J&K resurgence. With good support from Shubham Singh Pundir (30), Rasool struck an unbeaten 71-ball 70 to take his team to the finish line and notch a memorable victory over fourth-placed Tamil Nadu. Rasool struck three boundaries and two sixes as J&K, placed eighth, chased down the target in 40.3 overs.

Brief scores: Jammu and Kashmir 169/6 in 40.3 overs (Parvez Rasool 71*; Varun 3/34) beat Tamil Nadu 168 all out in 39.4 overs (Abhinav Mukund 49, Murali Vijay 44; Umar Nazir 4/26) by four wickets

Skipper Ishan Kishan s 64 helps Jharkhand beat Gujarat

In another game in Chennai, Jharkhand registered a five-wicket victory over Gujarat at the SSN College Ground on Sunday to top Group C. Opting to field, Jharkhand bowlers, led by Varun Aaron (3/21) rattled the opposition batsmen as Gujarat were bowled out for 107 in Sunday s match which was reduced to 25 overs. Aaron first claimed the wicket of Gujarat skipper and opener Parthiv Patel (0) in the first over and then dispatched the other opener, Priyank Panchal (7), in the fifth. He also claimed the wicket of Chintan Gaja (1) in the 25th over. Meanwhile, Piyush Chawla managed to notch an unbeaten 41-run knock on a pretty humiliating day for Gujrat batsmen.

Jharkhand fumbled during their run chase after opener Anand Singh departed for five off Gaja. However, thanks to Singh s partner and skipper Ishan Kishan s 64, Jharkhand were able to chase down their target in 21.4 overs after losing five wickets. Despite wickets falling at the other end, Kishan held fort during his 52-ball knock. His innings was laced with three boundaries and four hits over the fence. For Gujarat, Chawla was instrumental with the ball, returning with 3.21.

Brief scores: Jharkhand 108/5 in 21.4 (25) overs (Ishan Kishan 64; Piyush Chawla 3/21) beat Gujarat 107 all out in 25 overs (Piyush Chawla 41*; Varun Aaron 3/21) by five wickets

Vivek Singh, skipper Manoj Tiwary lead Bengal to win

Bengal defeated Rajasthan by six wickets in the third match at Chennai s TI Cycles Ground on Sunday. Opting to field, Bengal restricted Rajasthan to 177/9 in a 43-over aside match. Mahipal Lomror top scored with an unbeaten 79 as none of the other Rajasthan batsmen chipped in with runs. Wicketkeeper-batsman MN Singh was the second-highest scorer with 31. For Bengal, pacer Ishan Porel returned with rich pickings of 4/30 in his nine overs.

In reply, Bengal chased down their target in 37.4 overs, with the help of fifties from wicketkeeper-batsman Vivek Singh (65) and skipper Manoj Tiwary (56*). Bengal lost two quick wickets with Abhimanyu Easwaran (5) and Writtick Chatterjee (0) in the third over off Deepak Chahar. However, Singh and Tiwary were able to steady the ship to safety. Singh departed after he was caught by MN Singh off Rahul Chahar in the 19th over, while Tiwary hung on to ensure the win for Bengal.

Brief scores: Bengal 181/4 in 37.4 overs (43) (Vivek Singh 65, Manoj Tiwary 56*) beat Rajasthan 177/9 in 43 overs (Mahipal Lomror 79*; Ishan Porel 4/30) by six wickets

Here’s how the action unfolded today.