Virender Sehwag    PTI
Virender Sehwag PTI


May 25, 2014


Virender Sehwag was dismissed early for the Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) against the Delhi Daredevils (DD) in match 55 of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 7. Mohammad Shami came on to bowl the third over of the innings, and started with a wide ball. A dot ball followed, before Shami managed to induce a faint edge to the ‘keeper. Shami dug one in short to new man Glenn Maxwell, who got hit on the shoulder right away. Off the last ball, Vohra top-edged one that fell safely.


Jaydev Unadkat came on to bowl the second over. Vohra tried to hit the first ball out of the park, but got it low on the bat. The ball went high in the air but landed safely as Vohra scampered for two. Unadkat kept things very tight, as Vohra was unable to get another run off the over.


Mohammad Shami started proceedings for Delhi, and got some awkward bounce right away. Sehwag and Vohra rotated the strike for the first four balls, but Sehwag ended the over with back-to-back boundaries to make it 10 off the first over.


Earlier, Kevin Pietersen was looking solid and got to his first half-century of the season. The innings was equal parts scratchy and majestic, but it was undoubtedly the most vital one for the Daredevils. He was finally dismissed LWB by Rishi Dhawan for 58 off 41 balls. The rest of the line-up followed its usual trend of rolling over without a fight, as Delhi lost their last five wickets for just 24 runs. Eventually, Pietersen s 58 accounted for over half the runs DD scored in total.


Kevin Pietersen said at the toss that Delhi were looking to finish the campaign on a positive note. Punjab win the toss and elect to bowl, but Pietersen said that the Daredevils would have batted first anyway. Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Johnson, and Parwinder Awana came in for Punjab at the expense of Shaun Marsh, Beuran Hendricks and L Balaji, while Murali Vijay, Wayne Parnell and Siddharth Kaul missed out for Delhi.


Click here for IPL 2014 Points Table and Team Standings


Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule: Match time table for IPL 7


Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule & Results


Click here for IPL 2014 complete coverage