Getty Images
Getty Images

In a quest to revive cricketing scenes in Pakistan, World XI will play three T20s against the winners of 2017 Champions Trophy. Coached by former Zimbabwe captain Andy Flower, World XI features 14 players in the squad.

Faf du Plessis, captain of South Africa’s T20 and Test sides, will call the shots. The lists boasts of five South Africans, three Australians, two West Indians, one Bangladeshi player, and one Englishman.

The matches will be played at Lahore on September 12, 13, and 15. After receiving approval from the Punjab Government over security concerns, Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) had confirmed the news on Monday.

After the terror attacks in 2009 at the same ground, the cricketing nations have often denied to play in Pakistan. This forced the PCB to conduct international matches in UAE. However, Zimbabwe and Afghanistan played one series each in this phase. Sri Lanka and West Indies are expected to tour Pakistan later this year.

To bring cricket back on the Pakistan soil, ICC made financial arrangements for the T20 extravaganza.

“Prominent cricketers will be part of the World XI side coming to Pakistan. Therefore, I am expecting close competitions against them,” Pakistan captain Sarfraz Ahmed told Dawn.

Squad: Faf du Plessis (c), Hashim Amla, George Bailey, Paul Collingwood, Ben Cutting, Grant Elliott, Tamim Iqbal, David Miller, Tim Paine (wk), Thisara Perera, Darren Sammy, Samuel Badree, Morne Morkel, Imran Tahir