Bowlers held their nerve as Andhra managed to tame Jharkhand in a last-over finish to seal a three-run win in the Round 6 Group A clash of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019 in Mulapadu on Thursday. (ALSO READ: Rahul Tripathi powers Maharashtra to 7-wicket win over Baroda)

Requiring 180 runs to win, the Ishan Kishan-led Jharkhand were all out for 176 Prithvi Raj s three-wicket haul powered Andhra to a victory at the Devineni Venkata Ramana Praneetha Ground.

Batting first, Andhra did not enjoy a good start as they lost Ashwin Hebbar and Hanuma Vihari with just 21 runs on the board. Manyala Pranith, meanwhile, scored a quickfire 43 off 17 balls. But Varun Aaron dismissed him in the fifth over before Andhra were reduced to 71 for 4 in the 10th over. (ALSO READ: Akhilesh Sahani, Samarth Seth star as Arunachal Pradesh beat Mizoram)

While Ricky Bhui (38 off 29 balls) and Karn Sharma (30 off 15 balls) are chipped in with crucial runs, Aaron (3/49) and Shahbaz Nadeem (3/26) scalped three wickets each to dismiss Andhra for 179 in 19.5 overs.

Like Andhra, Jharkhad too did not enjoy a good start after they were reduced to 60 for three with Kishan, Anand Singh and Virat Singh already being dismissed. However, Saurabh Tiwary kept Jharkhand in a hunt. The southpaw hit 54 off 32 balls before he was run-out in the 19th over with Jharkhand needing just 8 runs to win from 9 deliveries. (ALSO READ: Uttar Pradesh maintain top spot with 118-run win over Uttarakhand)

However, Prithvi Raj, who bowled in the final over, kept his nerves and scalped two wickets to help Andhra secure a three-run win.

Brief scores: Andhra 179 all out (Manyala Pranith 43, Ricky Bhui 38; Shahbaz Nadeem 3/26) beat Jharkhand 176 all out (Saurabh Tiwary 54, Kumar Deobrat 27; Prithvi Raj 3/28) by three runs