Australian Cricket Awards: Matthew Wade, Heather Graham win top domestic prize

The pair of Matthew Wade and Heather Graham have won the top domestic trophies at the annual Australian Cricket Awards – formerly known as the Allan Border Medal – in Melbourne on Monday.

Wade was named Male Domestic Player of the Year and Graham took home Women’s Domestic Player of the Year.

In the eligibility period of December 8, 2017 to December 11, 2018 Wade scored 1509 runs across three formats for an average of 45.73 with five hundreds.

He stands as the highest run-getter of the Sheffield Shield with 571 at an average of 63.44 and in the preceding JLT One-Day Cup he was Tasmania’s fourth-highest scorer apart from being third for Hobart Hurricanes in the Big Bash League. (READ MORE: Pat Cummins wins Allan Border Medal)

Wade has been in the news several times in recent months, expressing his frustration at being ignored by Australia’s selectors and then questioning the criteria for selection. (READ MORE: Nathan Lyon is Test Player of the Year)

Graham, 22, was rewarded for her performances for Western Australia and in the 2017-18 Women’s Big Bash League. For her state in the WNCL she scored 481 runs at 30.06 to go with 32 wickets at 79.37, while in the one-day competition she racked up scores of 60, 70, 101 and 52 with 10 wickets to boot.

In the WBBL, she took the most wickets – 22 at 16.95 – and made 161 runs. (READ MORE: Alyssa Healy grabs three awards)

These numbers saw Graham win 29 per cent of the vote to beat Ellyse Perry (22 per cent) and Elyse Villani (14 per cent).