Cricket World Cup: A ‘real shame’ the trophy was decided on boundary count, rues Kane Williamson
Kane Williamson's New Zealand came within inches of winning the World Cup. © AFP

New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson admits that it will take “quite a bit of time” for him and his Black Caps team-mates to fully comprehend what transpired in the ICC Cricket World Cup final on at Lord’s,

Speaking to reporters in London on Tuesday, Williamson said he was still absorbing the emotions of an unprecedented result on July 14, which saw the World Cup final end with the scores level, which prompted a Super Over which ended with New Zealand level on England’s 15. Eoin Morgan’s team was crowned winners on the basis of having hit more boundaries in the match  – 24 to New Zealand’s 16.

“After two months of getting to the final stage and to have a tie … I guess it’s an odd feeling to, in some ways, not have a loser of a match but have a crowned winner,” said Williamson, who was adjudged Player of the Tournament on Sunday.

(READ: We’ve got the trophy and we intend to keep it: ECB chief Ashley Giles)

Reactions to England’s World Cup win over New Zealand have widely criticised the ICC’s ruling for a Super Over in a World Cup final, with many opining that the trophy should have been shared or given to Williamson’s team on the basis of them having lost fewer wickets.

The Black Caps coach Gary Stead today said that the ICC needed to review its rules after a “hollow” final, and Williamson echoed those sentiments.

“I mean, such a fine line,” he said. “Maybe the worst part is there’s so much you can’t control in those situations and it still eventuates the way it did.

“All and all, I think it was a real shame the tournament was decided in the way it was after two teams went at it in two attempts of cricket games and it was still a tie. We went toe-to-toe and fine print decided it.”

(READ: Such a shame that the ball hit Ben Stokes’ bat – Kane Williamson)

The other point of contention is England mistakenly given an extra run after a throw from Martin Guptill hit the bat of a diving Ben Stokes and deflected to the boundary in the final over of regular play at Lord’s. England were awarded six runs but former umpire Simon Taufel said they should only have got five as the batsmen had not crossed for their second run when the throw was made.