Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar. @ AFP
Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar. @ AFP

India s premier pace bowling duo of Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar have been named for the remaining three ODIs against the West Indies. Mohammed Shami was the only player who was excluded from the 15-man squad announced on Thursday.

Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar were rested from the two-Test series against the West Indies to prevent excessive workload ahead of the World Cup next year.

Bumrah, who has played 41 ODIs and picked 72 wickets, proved that he is no longer a limited overs specialist with 30 scalps in his first six Tests. He was also part of the victorious Asia Cup-winning side in Dubai this year where he picked eight wickets and played an important role to help India bag the title for the seventh time.

The 28-year-old Bhuvneshwar, considered the master of swing, was sidelined from the recent England tour, but made a strong statement in the Asia Cup where he picked six wickets.

Shami picked two wickets in the first ODI at Guwahati, but was the most expensive bowler returning with figures of 2/81. However, in Vizag, he bettered his economy finishing with 1 for 59 from 10 overs. Umesh Yadav, who conceded 142 runs with one wicket in both matches, retained his place.

The remaining three ODIs will be held at Pune (October 27), Mumbai’s Brabourne Stadium (October 29) and Thiruvananthapuram (November 1). Both teams will then be involved in a three-match T20 International series with the first T20I on November 4 at Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

India’s squad for remaining three ODIs: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Khaleel Ahmed, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey