Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) vs Daredevil (DD), IPL 2014 Match 55 Preview: Dominant Punjab take on hapless Daredevils
Kings XI Punjab will be playing at home, and are overwhelming favourites © IANS


By Shiamak Unwalla


May 24, 2014


The penultimate match of the league stage of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 7 will see the top ranked side, Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) take on a grossly disappointing Delhi Daredevils (DD) in Mohali. Kings XI have been by far the best side in IPL 2014, while the Daredevils have been the  most disappointing.


It will be a highly anti-climatic pre-finale to the league stages as no matter the outcome of the match, KXIP are sailing through to the playoffs, and DD have a chance only to be less pathetic than they have been all season. The Kevin Pietersen-led side have only themselves to blame for their abysmal showing with some inexplicable tactical blunders, mainly of which — but not limited to — has been keeping JP Duminy far too low in the order.


The KXIP batting order is almost endless: If Virender Sehwag doesn’t get you, Manan Vohra will. If neither of them does, Glenn Maxwell will. Then there’s Shaun Marsh, David Miller and George Bailey, failing whom is Wriddhiman Saha. The sheer volume of runs that have been scored by the Kings XI batsmen has far outstripped the other teams. Their bowling has not been as good, but their batting has chased over 200 runs twice, both times with different protagonists starring in the chase.


Delhi boast of big names as well, with Pietersen, Murali Vijay, Dinesh Karthik and Duminy in the side. Yet, they have not managed to play as a team. While Duminy has been terrific, he has been batting perhaps two positions low. Conversely, their bowling has no real international stardom to talk about. Mohammed Shami has been a let-down; Imran Tahir has been expensive, and the likes of Jaydev Unadkat and Siddharth Kaul have been haphazard.


KXIP will be playing at home, and are overwhelming favourites.




Kings XI Punjab: George Bailey (c), David Miller, Manan Vohra, Mitchell Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, Virender Sehwag, Rishi Dhawan, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Shaun Marsh, Cheteshwar Pujara, Beuran Hendricks, Lakshmipathy Balaji, Thisara Perera, Gurkeerat Mann Singh, Murali Kartik, Sandeep Sharma, Mandeep Singh, Akshar Patel, Parvinder Awana, Shardul Thakur, Anureet Singh, Shivam Sharma, Karanveer Singh.


Delhi Daredevils: Kevin Pietersen (c), Dinesh Karthik (wk), JP Duminy, Ross Taylor, Mayank Agarwal, Murali Vijay, Manoj Tiwary, SaurabhTiwary, Milind Kumar, Jimmy Neesham, Mohammed Shami, Jaydev Unadkat, Shahbaz Nadeem, Jayant Yadav, Rahul Shukla, Wayne Parnell, HS Sharath, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Kedar Jadhav, Siddharth Kaul, Rahul Sharma, Quinton de Kock.


Time: 16.00 IST | 10.30 GMT


Click here for IPL 2014 Points Table and Team Standings

Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule: Match time table for IPL 7

Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule & Results

Click here for IPL 2014 complete coverage


(Shiamak Unwalla is a reporter with Cricket Country. He is a self-confessed Sci-Fi geek and Cricket fanatic who likes to pass his free time by reading books, watching TV shows, and eating food. Sometimes all at the same time. You can follow him on twitter at @ShiamakUnwalla)