Mumbai's Wankhede Stadium was to host the IPL 2014 final © IANS
Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium was to host the IPL 2014 final © IANS


New Delhi: May 10, 2014


The Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) on Saturday got a jolt as the Indian Premier League (IPL) Governing Council decided to shift the final of the high-profile event on June 1 from Wankhede Stadium to Bangalore’s M Chinnaswamy Stadium.


Although the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) press release did not specify the reason for shifting the final, a top official told PTI on condition of anonymity that the anti-N Srinivasan attitude of some of the MCA office-bearers had played a part in the decision.


The official said since MCA belongs to the anti-Srinivasan faction which still rules the roost, this decision was intended to get even with some top MCA officials who have openly expressed their displeasure at the Tamil Nadu strongman continuing at the helm.


However, those who attended the Governing Council meeting were aware about the reasons given.


“The unofficial reason given is the atrocious quality of the Wankhede Stadium’s Hospitality Box which is very cramped. The BCCI will be having a clutch of high-profile guests from across the globe including senior ministers in the UAE government. That’s one reason why some of the decision makers felt that Wankhede will be inappropriate as a venue,” the official said.


The second reason given is “MCA having problems in dealing with Mumbai Police.”


“There are always shortage of VVIP Car Parking passes for the BCCI members. A lot of them have complained that they have to walk down a fair distance from the allotted car parking areas,” the official said.


When asked whether Wankhede lost due to Srinivasan and MCA being at loggerheads, another senior official said, “All I can say is that the final is shifted. You are free to interpret the development”.


Click here for IPL 2014 Points Table and Team Standings


Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule: Match time table for IPL 7


Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule & Results


Click here for IPL 2014 complete coverage