Murali Vijay. @ AFP
Murali Vijay. @ AFP

India s premier offspinner Ravichandran Ashwin, opener Murali Vijay and allrounder Vijay Shankar have opted out from Tamil Nadu s Ranji Trophy 2018-19 squad for the next round owing to national duties, a Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA) press release said on Thursday.

Ashwin, who has been included in the Test squad for the marquee series against Australia, will use the time to gear up for the four-match series which begins with the first Test on December 6 at Adelaide.

Vijay, who has also been included in the side, will join Shankar in the first four-day game in the India A squad for the tour of New Zealand.

K Vignesh, CV Varun and Shahrukh Khan have been named in the side in place of Ashwin, Vijay and Shankar. Varun, a mystery spinner, who played in the one-day format Vijay Hazare Trophy, made heads turn during the Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) earlier this year. Medium-pacer Vignesh returns to the side after picking up a hamstring injury, while, Shahrukh Khan is TN s middle order batsman.

Tamil Nadu had to be content with just one after their opener against Madhya Pradesh at Dindigul ended in a rain-affected draw.