Bengaluru: Manish Pandey led from the front with a sublime century to help Karnataka beat Chhattisgarh by a massive 198 runs in their Ranji Trophy 2018-19 Elite A match at Alur on Wednesday.

The win took Karnataka a step closer towards securing their place in the knockout stages of the premier domestic tournament.

Karnataka are now placed second with 27 points from seven matches, a point less than group toppers Vidarbha. They won three matches and drew as many in seven outings they played so far. They have lost just one against Saurashtra.

ALSO READ: Abhimanyu Easwaran’s unbeaten 183 leads Bengal to 7-wicket win over Delhi

Pandey played an unconquered 102-run knock while Ronit More and Shreyas Gopal bagged four wickets apiece in Chhattisgarh’s second innings to ensure the big win for Karnataka.

The newly appointed Karnataka skipper’s knock was studded with 14 boundaries and a six.

After declaring their second innings at 219 for seven, Karnataka, who had made 418 all out in the first essay, skittled out Chhattisgarh for 156 in 57 overs.

Chhattisgarh had made 283 all out in their first innings, conceding 135 runs lead to the hosts. Except for opener Avnish Dhaliwal (61) and Amandeep Khare (35) no other Chhattisgarh batsmen could make any significant contribution.

ALSO READ: Dogged Odisha survive final day to draw with Services

Seven batsmen failed to reach double figures as More and Gopal ran through Chhattisgarh’s batting line-up in the second innings.

Resuming at the overnight score of 113 for four in their second innings, Karnataka lost Sheyas Gopal after he added just one run to his overnight 21.

Pandey then scripted a 43-run stand for the sixth wicket with Krishnappa Gowtham (20). R Vinay Kumar, who scored a crucial 90 in the first innings, fell cheaply to Pankaj Rai for seven.

Pandey, who was ably supported by Mithun, declared the innings after reaching century.

Mithun made quick 33 runs off just 17 balls with the help of three boundaries and two sixes.

Brief scores: Karnataka 418 & 219/7 declare (Manish Pandey 102*; Panjak Rao 4/67) beat Chhattisgarh 283 & 156 (Avnish Singh 61; Ronit More 4/35, Shreyas Gopal 4/44) by 198 runs