Uttar Pradesh called the shots on the opening day as left-arm spinner Saurabh Kumar’s seven wickets – his career best figures of 7/33 – helped UP gain a first-innings lead against Haryana in their Ranji Trophy 2018-19 Elite C match on Sunday.

Put into bat on the notorious Lahli pitch, Haryana were skittled for 110. Kumar, playing in his 32nd first-class match, had opener Ankit Kumar dismissed for 4 in the seventh over. Chaitanya Bishnoi was cleaned up by Yash Dayal for just 1. RP Sharma added just 6 before he was caught by Samarth Singh off Ankit Rajpoot.

ALSO READ: Rahul Chahar picks four, Goa bowled out for 244

Kumar then ran through the Haryana middle order and claimed the next seven wickets in 25 overs. He first had Pramod Chandila for four in the second delivery of the 17th over and four deliveries later, had Rahul Dagar dismissed for a three-ball duck. He returned in the 23rd over to see the end of India discard Jayant Yadav for 2.

Haryana captain Harshal Patel did well to thwart the bowling attack, but failed to provide any support to Himanshu Rana, who registered a fine half-century, but was dismissed soon after Patel (15 off 42) departed.

Ajit Chahal added just 3 before he was run out by Samarth, while Ashish Hooda failed to trouble the scorers after he was trapped lbw by Kumar.

ALSO READ: Puducherry lead Manipur by 18 runs

If spin had done the trick for UP, then Haryana had pace as their main weapon, thanks to Chahal, who snapped five wickets, as Uttar Pradesh were wrapped up for 133, but pocketed a crucial first-innings lead of 23 runs. Rinku Singh top scored with 43 in an otherwise dismal show by the visiting team. Umang Sharma and Priyam Garg were the second-highest run-scorers, who registered identical scores of 17.

For Haryana, Chahal returned with career-best figures of 5/16 in his seven overs going for just 16 runs to improve on his previous best of 5/53, while Patel grabbed three wickets in his 8.2 overs going for 32 runs.

In their second innings, Haryana were 10 for no loss with openers Rana and Amit Kumar batting on 2 and 8 respectively.

Brief scores: Haryana 110 (Himanshu Rana 50; Saurabh Kumar 7/33) 10/0 trail Uttar Pradesh 133 (Rinku Singh 43; Ajit Chahal 5/16) by 13 runs