Sri Lanka World Cup squad: Thirimanne, Siriwardana, Vandersay recalled

Sri Lanka have named batsman Lahiru Thirimanne, slow-bowling allrounders Milinda Siriwardana and Jeevan Mendis and legspinner Jeffrey Vandersay in their 15-man squad for the 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup.

From Sri Lanka’s last ODI squad which toured South Africa – where they lost all five games – Niroshan Dickwella, Akila Dananjaya, Danushka Gunathilaka and Upul Tharanga have been dropped.

Led by batsman Dimuth Karunaratne – who on Wednesday was named captain despite not having played an ODI since 2015 – Sri Lanka’s World Cup squad comprises four specialist batsmen, one wicketkeeper, six allrounders, three fast bowlers and one specialist spinner in Vandersay.

The Sri Lanka selectors considered the form of players in the ongoing Inter-Provincial Cricket Tournament, apart from international performances this year. The top two run-getters of the domestic one-day competition, Angelow Mathews and Thirimmane, have been picked as has Mendis whose all-round impact has been valued.

Thirimanne, who has not played ODI cricket since December 2017, recently scored a century to push his claims for a recall. Mathews topped the Inter-Provincial Cricket Tournament run-chart with 227 from four innings to prove his fitness while Mendis scored averaged over 41 with the bat and took six wickets.

Mendis, 36, played the last of his 54 ODIs in March 2018. Vandersay’s last ODI was in October 2017. He took four wickets in five List A matches this season.

Siriwardana, 33, last featured for Sri Lanka in an ODI in October 2017 as well.

The wicketkeeper-batsman Kusal Perera has been included, after being passed fit this week after he returned from South Africa with a hamstring injury.

Former captain Dinesh Chandimal, who led Sri Lanka until February before he was dropped for the South Africa tour, has not found a place.

Sri Lanka have not won a single ODI in 2019, having lost three games in New Zealand and five in South Africa.

Sri Lanka’s World Cup squad: Dimith Karunaratne, (capt), Angelo Mathews, Thisara Perera, Kusal Perera, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Mendis, Isuru Udana, Milinda Siriwardana, Avishka Fernando, Jeevan Mendis, Lahiru Thirimanne, Jeffrey Vandersay, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Pradeep, Suranga Lakmal

Sri Lanka s World Cup fixtures:

May 24: (warm-up) Sri Lanka vs South Africa, Cardiff

May 26: (warm-up) Sri Lanka vs Australia, Southampton

June 1: Sri Lanka vs New Zealand, Cardiff

June 4: Sri Lanka vs Afghanistan, Cardiff

June 7: Sri Lanka vs Pakistan, Bristol

June 11: Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh, Bristol

June 15: Sri Lanka vs Australia, The Oval

June 21: Sri Lanka vs England, Leeds

June 28: Sri Lanka vs South Africa, Durham

July 1: Sri Lanka vs West Indies, Durham

July 6: Sri Lanka vs India, Leeds

For a full list of all World Cup fixtures, click HERE