Sunrisers Hyderabad registered their first win in the tournament © IANS (File photo)
Sunrisers Hyderabad registered their first win in the tournament © IANS (File photo)


By Devarchit Varma


Apr 25, 2014


Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) registered their first win as they trumped Delhi Daredevils by four runs in the 12th match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2014 at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Friday. Chasing a target of 185, Delhi Daredevils fought hard but could manage only 180 for four from their allotted 20 overs.


Quinton de Kock and Murali Vijay provided Delhi a great start, but their effort was not enough as Delhi failed to keep up with the required run-rate.  De Kock and Vijay provided Delhi Daredevils a strong start, as they added 99 runs for the first wicket. After seeing off first couple of initial overs, they opened up to take Delhi Daredevils to a position of command. Both the batsmen kept hitting boundaries off the loose ones, and the highlight of the first six overs was certainly the six that de Kock hit off Dale Steyn’s final ball in the fifth over. The batsman shifted across the wickets and lifted the ball over the leg side.


In the seventh over, desperate for a breakthrough, Sunrisers introduced Darren Sammy into the attack. But the change brought no respite for them as the Delhi batsmen scored 13 runs off him. De Kock hit two fours while Vijay hit one. The South African batsman continued the good work in the next over as he hit two boundaries off Karn Sharma to keep the scoreboard ticking.


Vijay — who had trudged along till then — found some rhythm in the 10th over of the game when he got three boundaries off his compatriot Bhuvneshwar Kumar. In the next over, he clobbered a six off Amit Mishra.


Sunrisers Hyderabad had done almost everything they could to make a breakthrough, but all their efforts till then proved futile. The opening pair had put up as many as 98 runs after 11 overs and Sunrisers desperately needed a wicket. De Kock, who had till then batted fluently, mistimed one off Mishra in the 12th over as he was caught in the deep midwicket region. De Kock’s innings of 48 off 30 included six fours and one six.


Vijay fell in the next over, but not before completing his half-century with an edge off Sammy that raced away for four. On the second ball of the 13th over, Vijay ended up giving a simple catch to Dale Steyn near the long-on boundary. He scored 52 off 40 balls, with the help of one six and seven fours.


Sunrisers not only pegged back Delhi with those two quick wickets, but they were also able to stop the flow of runs. The new batsmen, Kevin Pietersen who was playing his first match, and Dinesh Karthik found it tough to score more than 10 runs an over and despite couple of big hits, they couldn’t do enough.


Steyn returned to bowl the 17th over of the game, and dismissed both Karthik and Pietersen on consecutive deliveries. While Karthik scored 15, Pietersen could manage only 16 off 17 balls as Delhi slipped further.


Towards the end, Jean-Paul Duminy scored a quickfire runs off balls but it was too late for anything. For the Sunrisers, Steyn claimed two wickets for 33 runs.


Earlier in the first innings, Aaron Finch and David Warner slammed unbeaten half-centuries to fire Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) to a huge total of 184 for one against the Delhi Daredevils. Finch and Warner added 128 runs for the second wicket to defy Delhi’s bowling tactics, as the SRH batsmen found momentum after a sluggish start in the tournament.


Both Finch and Warner started off on a scratchy start but found momentum soon to punish an erratic bowling attack of the Daredevils. Finch smashed eight fours and four sixes to remain unbeaten on 88 off just 53 balls, while Warner looked in terrific touch towards the end to reach 58 not out from 45 balls. Warner hit three sixes and as many fours.


Brief scores:


Sunrisers Hyderabad 184 for 1 in 20 overs (Shikhar Dhawan 33, Aaron Finch 88*, David Warner 58*) beat Delhi Daredevils 180 for 4 in 20 overs (Quinton de Kock 48, Murali Vijay 52; Dale Steyn 2 for 33) by 4 runs.


Man of the Match: Aaron Finch.


Full Scorecard


Photo Gallery


Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule: Match time table for IPL 7


Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule & Results


Click here for IPL 2014 complete coverage


(Devarchit Varma is a reporter with CricketCountry. He can be followed on Twitter @Devarchit)