Shreyas Iyer powered his way to an unbeaten century, his second in the tournament to help Mumbai to a thumping eight-wicket victory in the Syed Mushtaq Ali 2019 Group C Round 3 match against Madhya Pradesh at the Holkar Stadium in Indore on Sunday.

Earlier this week, Iyer had etched his name in the record books after notching up the highest ever T20 score by an Indian batsman. The 24-year-old struck a fluent 55-ball 147 against Sikkim as Mumbai registered a massive 154-run win. Iyer surpassed Ribhabh Pant s 128 not out to register the highest T20 score by an Indian batsman. (ALSO READ: Assam trump in last-ball thriller)

On Sunday, after opting to bat, Madhya Pradesh folded for 143 in 19.3 overs with pacer Tushar Deshpande emerging as the standout performer for Mumbai with four for 28 in his four overs. Shardul Thakur, Dhawal Kulkarni and Shams Mulani all pocketed two wickets apiece to sum up a complete bowling performance. For MP, captain Rajat Patidar top scored with 47 before he was dismissed by Shardul.

Chasing a not so dauting target, Mumbai were straight away on the backfoot after both their openers Prithvi Shaw and captain Ajinkya Rahane were back in the hut inside the first eight overs. (ALSO READ: Gujarat crush Himachal for third straight win)

Shaw, making a comeback from an ankle injury that kept him out of action in the marquee Australia series, was cleaned by off the very first delivery of the innings by Ishwar Pandey. Rahane added just a solitary run before he edged it behind to keeper Naman Ojha off Kuldeep Sen.

Iyer, who received a reprieve in the 10th over after he was dropped on 28 at long-off by Parth Sahani off leggie Mihir Hirwani, took control of the innings and plundered 10 massive sixes and five boundaries en route his unbeaten 103 coming in just 55 deliveries. He received good support from Suryakumar Yadav as the pair forged 138 runs for the unconquered third wicket to help Mumbai chase down the target in 16 overs. (ALSO READ: Tamil Nadu beat Bihar by six wickets)

With their third win, Mumbai are sitting comfortable at the top of Group C with 12 points, while MP are the fifth place after losing their second match in three games.

Brief scores: Mumbai 145/2 in 16 overs (Shreyas Iyer 103*, Suryakumar Yadav 39*) beat Madhya Pradesh 143 all out in 19.3 overs (Rajat Patidar 47; Tushar Deshpande 4/28, Dhawal Kulkarni 2/12, Shardul Thakur 2/20, Shams Mulani 2/33) by eight wickets