One-off Test: Shakib Al Hasan named Bangladesh skipper, Taskin Ahmed makes a comeback

The one-off Test, which will commence on September 5, will not be a part of ICC World Test Championship.

Related articles

Taskin Ahmed, who replaced Mustafizur Rahman in the squad, last represented Bangladesh in Test cricket in September 2017. @AFP

Taskin Ahmed returned to the squad while Mustafizur Rahman was not picked due to injury as Bangladesh on Friday announced a 15-man squad for the one-off Test against Afghanistan.

“Mustafizur has a light injury. Since we have only one Test match, we did not want to take any risk. Moreover, we have many matches coming. This is why we rested him,” Minhajul Abedin, chief selector, told AFP.

Tamim Iqbal, who is on a sabbatical following workload and form concerns, and Khaled Ahmed were not picked in the squad which will be led by Shakib Al Hasan. The allrounder was not a part of the Bangladesh squad during the Test series against New Zealand in February-March this year, took over the captaincy duties from Mahmudullah.

ALSO READ: Bangladesh’s Test preparations not focussed on Rashid Khan: Shadman

Taskin, who replaced Rahman in the squad, played his last represented Bangladesh in the longest format of the game in September 2017 before injuries and lack of form pushed him to the sidelines.

The 24-year-old right-arm pacer earlier picked in Bangladesh’s squad for the New Zealand Test series before an ankle injury ruled him out.

ALSO READ: BCB appoint South African physio Julian Calefato

However, Taskin has shown signs of form during the Dr. K Thimmappiah Memorial Tournament in Bengaluru, India. He scalped seven wickets across the two four-day games and bowled over 70 overs, showing signs of improved fitness.

The one-off Test will not be a part of ICC World Test Championship. The Test will commence on September 5 at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram.

Bangladesh squad:

Shakib Al Hasan (Captain), Soumya Sarkar, Shadman Islam, Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Kumar, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mohammad Mithun, Mosaddek Hossain, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Nayeem Hasan, Abu Jayed, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain.

trending this week