It’s a match neither Kings XI Punjab or Delhi Daredevils would want to lose © IANS
It’s a match neither Kings XI Punjab or Delhi Daredevils would want to lose © IANS

Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) take on Delhi Daredevils (DD) in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2015, Match 10 at Pune. KXIP and DD have had an interesting beginning to the tournament so far. DD have played extremely well in both their matches, but have failed to go over the line, first against Chennai Super Kings (CSK), against whom they lost by a run and against Rajasthan Royals (RR), which went down to the last ball of the match.

KXIP were a touch rusty in their opening match against RR.  Skipper George Bailey batted at No.7, promoting Akshar Patel to No.5, a move which did not work at all. Bailey quickly rectified that in the next match against Mumbai Indians (MI), where he played a match-winning innings batting at his usual No.5 position. The bowling too looks quite encouraging. Sandeep Sharma has been brilliant in both the matches, with Mitchell Johnson coming good in the second match against MI. IPL 2015 Previews

Virender Sehwag’s return to form is also a good sign at the top of the innings. His opening partnership with Murali Vijay will be crucial in determining how the middle-order will go about things. IPL 2015 schedule: IPL 8 match time table with venue details

Chasing 151 to win against CSK, DD kept losing wickets at regular intervals and despite an unbeaten 55-ball 73 was not enough to win the match. Surprisingly, Albie Morkel was dropped for the next match against RR and despite setting an imposing target, DD lost yet again, thanks to some excellent batting from Deepak Hooda. READ: Albie Morkel, Delhi spot hidden gem

The good sign as far as DD is concerned is that all the batsmen got good, solid starts and if one of them get a big score, DD can scathe past the 200-run mark every game. Imran Tahir is the man in form with the ball for them, scalping five wickets in two matches already. Indian Premier League (IPL) 2015: Complete coverage

It’s a match neither team will want to lose. KXIP will look to build on their emphatic win over MI and DD will just look to get their first win of the tournament. A loss for Delhi will be extremely demoralising, but KXIP, on the other hand will be more than happy to pile on more misery on their opponents. IPL 2015: CSK, KKR, RCB, KXIP, MI, RR, SRH, DD full team details in IPL 8


Kings XI Punjab (KXIP): George Bailey (c), Virender Sehwag, Glenn Maxwell, David Miller, Mitchell Johnson, Murali Vijay, Shaun Marsh, Akshar Patel, Sandeep Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, Manan Vohra, Thisara Perera, Rishi Dhawan, Anureet Singh, Karanveer Singh, Nikhil Naik, Parvinder Awana, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Yogesh Golwalkar, Beuran Hendricks, Shivam Sharma, Shardul Thakur.

Delhi Daredevils (DD): JP Duminy (c), Quinton de Kock (wk), Mayank Agarwal, Manoj Tiwary, Yuvraj Singh, Saurabh Tiwary, Angelo Mathews, Kedar Jadhav, Imran Tahir, Amit Mishra, Shahbaz Nadeem, Zaheer Khan, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammed Shami, CM Gautam, Gurinder Sandhu, Jayant Yadav, Albie Morkel, Srikar Bharat, Marcus Stoinis, Dominic Joseph Muthuswamy, Shreyas Iyer, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Karapak Jiyas, Travis Head

Time: 2.30 GMT | 20.00 IST

(Pramod Ananth is a reporter at CricketCountry. He has represented Karnataka table tennis under-15, and is a hardcore supporter of Liverpool FC. His Twitter handle is @pramz)