Ravichandran Ashwin. @ AFP

Chennai: India Test spinner Ravichandran Ashwin will lead Tamil Nadu in the Syed Musthaq Ali Trophy T20 tournament to be held at Surat from February 21 to March 2.

Opener Murali Vijay doesn’t find a place in the squad announced on Thursday. Young all-rounder Washington Sundar is back in the team after missing action for a while following an injury during the limited-overs leg of the Australia tour, a TNCA press note said. He has been named vice-captain of the squad.

Allrounder Vijay Shankar, who is currently with the Indian team playing in the T20 series in New Zealand after making his ODI debut in Australia, has been picked in the 16-man squad.

Vijay, who was dropped after failing to shine in the first two Tests in the series Down Under, had featured in a Tamil Nadu Cricket Association I Division league match on Wednesday. (ALSO READ: EXCLUSIVE: Fitness, dogged attitude and the Che plan: Faiz Fazal reveals story of Vidarbha s Ranji Trophy triumph)

Baba Indrajith, the captain of the Ranji Trophy 2018-19 side has been named while his twin brother Baba Aparajith doesn’t feature in the team.

The squad also includes C Hari Nishaanth, who did well in the Tamil Nadu Premier League last year apart from R Vivek, who came to the fore with his big hitting.

Leg-spinner M Ashwin joins Sai Kishore and the skipper Ashwin in the department. Tamil Nadu opens its campaign against Rajasthan on February 21. (ALSO READ: Happy and proud how Saurashtra fought in the Ranji Trophy final: Jaydev Unadkat)

Squad: R Ashwin (captain), Washington Sundar (vice-captain), N Jagadeesan (wk), C Hari Nishaanth, M Shahrukh Khan, B Indrajith, R Vivek, T Natarajan, M Mohammed, J Kousik, R Sai Kishore, M Ashwin, NS Chaturved, Vijay Shankar, V Athisayaraj Davidson, Abhisek Tanwar