R Ashwin scalped 2 wickets while Murali Vijay scored 74 as Tamil Nadu beat Vidarbha. @PTI

The big boys, R Ashwin and Murali Vijay, stood up and delivered the goods as Tamil Nadu beat Vidarbha in the Round 6 Group B clash of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019 in Surat on Thursday.

Ashwin, who took the new ball after electing to bowl, scalped two wickets for 16 runs while Abhishek Tanwar scalped three wickets, conceding 22 runs. While Rushabh Rathod scored a half-century, Tamil Nadu restricted Vidarbha to 141/9 from 20 overs at the Lalabhai Contractor Stadium. (ALSO READ: Andhra beat Jharkhand by 3 runs in last-over thriller)

Tamil Nadu, though, stuttered in the chase and were reduced to 52/5 from nine overs. However, Murali Vijay resurrected the Tamil Nadu innings scoring 74 off 47 balls and stitched a 68-run partnership with J Kousik, who scored an unbeaten 41 off 35 balls.

This was Vijay s second consecutive half-century after scoring 77 against Himachal Pradesh on Wednesday. However, unlike the previous game, Vijay s knock did not go in vain on Thursday as Tamil Nadu registered a three-wicket win. (ALSO READ: Rahul Tripathi powers Maharashtra to 7-wicket win over Baroda)

The win though may still not be enough for Tamil Nadu to secure a place in the Super League stage from Group B. Vidarbha, Himachal and Gujarat are in contention to secure those two spots in the Super League from Group B. (ALSO READ: Akhilesh Sahani, Samarth Seth star as Arunachal Pradesh beat Mizoram)

Brief scores: Tamil Nadu 142/7 (Murali Vijay 74, J Kousik 41*; Shrikant Wagh 2/23) beat Vidarbha 141/9 all out (Rushabh Rathod 51, Jitesh Sharma 26; Abhishek Tanwar 3/22, R Ashwin 2/16) by three wickets